UIUC Online CatalogI-Share CatalogWorldCat Database
This is the "Home" page of the "Library Orientation Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide was developed to help Illinois Natural History Survey and Prairie Research Institute scientists and staff find the wide array of library resources and materials available to them.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/INHSlibrary Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the INHS Library Collection.

Click the above link to find out more about the INHS Library.  Our website is located at http://www.library.illinois.edu/prairie/inhs/

Click here for our location information, bus schedules, and map.

 

Education and Training

We offer library orientation tours and sessions.  Instruction on topics of your choosing is available for individuals and groups of Institute staff upon request. Contact us (217-333-6892) to schedule a session for yourself or your group.


Savvy Researcher Series Includes training on various topics provided by the UIUC Library, with links to online registration when required.

 

Contact Us

Click here for general contact information for the INHS Librarian or contact Beth Wohlgemuth.  To contact a specific Prairie Research Institute librarian click here.

 

What is happening at the INHS Library?

The Illinois Natural History Survey Library has been renamed the Prairie Research Institute Library.  The online catalog now lists the location of all INHS library materials as the "Prairie Research Institute".  Also the library calendar has been altered to reflect this name change. 

The State Scientific Surveys merged in 2008 to form the Institute of Natural Resource Sustainability, recently renamed the Prairie Research Institute.  Library materials from the other survey library collections are being added to the University Library catalog, and some materials are moving into the old INHS library space.  To make room for this influx of materials bound INHS journals that are available on-line were sent to the Oak Street storage facility and the books were weeded.  Susan Braxton was hired as Head of the new Institute Library and librarians from the Illinois Geological Survey (Anne Huber), Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (Laura Barnes), and the Illinois State Water Survey (Susan Braxton) are helping to provide service at the reference desk.  We are happy to help you!

Combined the Prairie Research Institute library collection will contain a more varied book and journal collection, map and image collections, and a record of the historical output of the surveys. 

 

Important Library Information

Arrangement of the Prairie Research Institute Library
Materials are arranged by Dewey Decimal call number, as are most UIUC Library materials. Our books and journals are shelved separately, Bound and unbound journals are shelved together by call number. Abstracts and Indexes are shelved at the beginning of the Journals area. New journal issues are displayed for 1 week, by day received, in the New Journals area before being transferred to the shelves. New Books are displayed on the New Book display for 4 to 6 weeks. We periodically arrange topical displays of books and other materials.

Borrowing Materials
Institute staff can borrow most books for 16 weeks, with 10 renewals allowed.
Bound journals can be checked out for 2 weeks with one 2 week renewal and can be requested on-line through the on-line catalog.  The check out time can be extended if requested.  Unbound journals require a manual checkout with 1 week to Institute staff.
For renewing info, see
Renewing Materials below.

For more info on borrowing, see UIUC library's circulation policies.


Fees / Fines
UIUC Library books more than 40 days overdue are considered lost, and the lost book charge is $125.00 per book. Lost journals are billed at a minimum of $300.00. If lost books and journals are returned, a late fee of $10.00 per item may be charged. Non-UIUC libraries have their own overdue fine schedules, which may be more or less severe. To avoid fines, renew or return all UIUC, I-Share, and Interlibrary Loan items before their due dates.
See "Renewing Library Materials" on the Renewing page.
See "Overdue Notices, Overdue Fines, and Billing" on the Billings page.


Identification
An I-Card, NetID and an Active Directory password are required to take full advantage of library resources and services.
The I-Card, which carries your library borrower bar code, is required to borrow materials. Your bar code number must be activated after your I-Card has been issued. Bar code activation can be performed at any library service point, including the INHS Library. The NetID and password is needed to make Interlibrary Loan requests.  A NetID and Active Directory password is necessary to access online resources from off-campus terminals.

Renewing Materials
Renew most items online using My Account. Many I-Share libraries allow renewal of their materials online from . If unable to renew an I-Share book online, contact the lending I-Share library. Directory of I-Share Libraries.
Some journals and reference materials cannot be renewed online; for assistance renewing these materials, or for any questions you may have, please contact us (217-333-6892).  For more information see "Renewing".
 

 Returning Materials
Books and journals from UIUC and I-Share libraries can be returned to the Prairie Research Institute Library and will be discharged and forwarded to the appropriate library.
Similarly, Prairie Research Institute Library materials can be returned at any UIUC or I-Share Library, unless the item is not barcoded.
Materials borrowed through Interlibrary Loan must be picked up and returned in the Main Library circulation desk on the second floor.

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Beth Wohlgemuth
Contact Info
Illinois Natural History Survey Librarian
Prairie Research Institute Library
1816 S. Oak St.
1027 Forbes Natural History Building
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 244-4907
Fax: (217) 244-0802
Send Email
 

Resources for Biologists Guide

The Resources for Biologists Guide is an excellent source for select references and other works to support biologists scholarly and career needs.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip