Other Resources
Online Resources
Excellent Starting Points
Literature Resource Center UIUC
Writers Directory UIUC
Biography Resource Center UIUC
General
Medioevo Italiano: l'Italia nel Medioevo WWW
Medioevo Italiano Project (MIP) WWW --an Italian non-profit organization that provides research consultation and discussion forums, among other research aids.
Intute: Italian Studies WWW is a service dedicated to discovering, evaluating and cataloging online resources in the humanities and provides online access to this growing collection of records.
Literature
I Classici della Letteratura Italiana WWW
Decameron Web WWW
Duecento: la poesia italiana dalle origini a Dante WWW
I Triumphi di Francesco Petrarca, Università di Pisa WWW
The Petrarchan Grotto: Online gateway to Petrarch WWW
Surveys
8540.9 C144
Brand, Peter and Pertile, Lino, eds. The Cambridge History of Italian
Literature. Cambridge University Press, 1996.
Q. 809 M8553w V.7
Moss, Janet. World
Literature and its times: Italian Literature and Its Times: profiles of
notable literary works and the historical events that influenced them. Detroit: Gale Group, 2005.
Encylcopedias
General
946.0203 M468
Medieval Iberia : an encyclopedia. 2 vols. Edited by E. Michael Gerli. New York : Routledge, 2003.
909.07EN191
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. Edited by Andre Vauchez, Barrie Dobson, and Michael Lapidge. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
909.07EN19
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. Edited by Norman Cantor. New York: Viking, 1999.
909.07D561
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 13 vols. Edited by Joseph R. Strayer. New York: Scribner, 1982.
940.103 D561
Gauvard, Claude, Libera, Lain de, and Zink, Michel, eds. Dictionnaire du Moyen Âge. Paris: Quadrige; Presses Universitaires de France, 2002.
909.07ST74C
Storey, R. L. Chronology of the Medieval World, 800 to 1491. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1994.
189.2AU4ZA
Augustine Through the Ages: An Encyclopedia. Edited by Allan D. Fitzgerald. Grand Rapids, MI: W.B. Eerdmans, 1999.
Q.270.103D648:E
Encyclopedia of the Early Church. 2 vols. Edited by Angelo Di Berardino. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Q.291.65703EN19
Encyclopedia of Monasticism. 2 vols. Edited by William M. Johnston. Chicago, London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
398.03M46
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs. 2 vols. Edited by Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, and John Lindow. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
Q. 509.02 M468
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: An Encyclopedia. Edited by Thomas F. Glick, Steven J. Livesey, Faith Wallis. New York: Routledge, 2005.
Q. 909.04924 M468
Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia. Edited by Norman Roth. New York: Routledge, 2003.
Q. 909.09767003 M468
Medieval Islamic Civilization: An Encyclopedia. 2 vols. Edited by Josef W. Meri. New York: Routledge, 2006.
923.1R73R
Ross, Martha. Rulers and Governments of the World. London & New York: Bowker, 1977-78.
929.703B797D
Broughton, Bradford B. Dictionary of Medieval Knighthood and Chivalry: People, Places, and Events. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
940.10922L343
Late Medieval Age of Crisis and Renewal, 1300-1500: A Biographical Dictionary. Edited by Clayton J. Drees. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2001.
Italy
Q. 945.0303 M468
Medieval Italy: an encyclopedia. 2 vols. Edited by Christopher Kleinhenz.
New York: Routledge, 2004.
940.103D648
Dizionario enciclopedico del medioevo. 3 Vols. Paris; Rome;
Cambridge: Città Nuova Editrice, 1998.
270.0922 G. 644v.1
Goosen, Aloysius Bernardus Josef Maria. Dizionario dei santi: storia, letteratura, arte e musica. [Milano]: Bruno Mondadori, 2000.
809.02 V26:I
Gerritsen, W. P. Miti e personaggi del medioevo: dizionario di storia, letteratura, arte, musica e cinema. Milano: Bruno Mondadori, 1999.
Literature
Q. 850.9 En192
Encyclopedia of Italian literary studies. Gaetana Marrone, ed. New York: Routledge, 2007.
850.3 D561996
Bondanella, Peter and Julia Conaway, eds. Dictionary of Italian Literature.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996.
850.3D649
Branca, Vittore et al. Dizionario critico della letteratura italiana. 3
Vols. Torino: Unione tipografico editrice torinese, 1973.
803En16
Drago, Marco and Boroli, Andrea. L'enciclopedia della letteratura. Direzione,
Novara: De Agostini, 1997.
850.3 L569
Rosa, Alberto Asor. Letteratura italiana: dizionario delle opere. 2
vols. Torino: G. Einaudi, 1999.
Q. 850.9 En192
Encyclopedia of Italian literary studies. Gaetana Marrone, ed. New York: Routledge, 2007.
850.9 L569232
Letteratura italiana: gli autori dizionario bio-bibliografico e indici. Torino: Einaudi, 1990.
Q. 914.5092003 En 16
Enciclopedia degli autori Italiani. A.L.I Penna d' Autore, ed. 2nd ed. Torino: A.L.I Penna d'Autore, 2004.
Women
305.4090203 W842
Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.
305.40902 L423e
Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages. Edited by Jennifer Lawler. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2001.
920.7203EX87
Levin, Carole, et al. Extraordinary Women of the Medieval and Renaissance World: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2000.
Spanish, Italian and Portuguese Librarian |
Paula Carns425 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 244-0483
pcarns@illinois.edu
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Send Email
Subjects:
Spanish, Italian, Portuguese; Latin America & Caribbean
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait