This is the "Home" page of the "Guide for JapanKnowledge+" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide for JapanKnowledge+   Tags: asia, asian, ealc, japan, japanese resources  

User guide for JapanKnowledge+
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/JapanKnowledge Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

About JapanKnowledge+

JapanKnowledge+ is an electronic collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries, with smaller collections of news and articles from select Japanese journals, select electronic books and web contents, and audiovisual libraries. Contents are cross-searchable using the One Look search box. 

The database is available at http://www.jkn21.com for computers with University of Illinois IP addresses (i.e. for on-campus access). Use library's proxy authentication for off-campus access by following this link: http://www.library.illinois.edu/sfx?r=17160000000001007 (UIUC NetID login will be required).

This LibGuide provides a quick guide for navigating the search interface of JapanKnowledge+ for students and scholars. The "Basic Search" tab includes a brief guide to resources available in English, Chinese and Korean. 

Key Contents

Key encyclopedia and dictionary titles covered by JapanKnowledge+ include:

History

  • 国史大辞典 = Encyclopedia of Japanese History
  • 江戸名所図会 = Edo Meisho Zue (Famous Places in Edo)

People and Culture

  • 日本人名大辞典 = The Biographical Dictionary of Japan
  • 日本人物文献目録 = Bibliography of Japanese Biographies
  • 新版 能・狂言事典 = The Noh and Kyogen Dictionary: New Edition
  • 新版 歌舞伎事典 = The Kabuki Dictionary: New Edition

Multi-language Dictionary

  • ランダムハウス英和大辞典 = Shogakukan Random House English-Japanese Dictionary
  • ポケットプログレッシブ中日・日中辞典 = Pocket Progressive Chinese-Japanese/Japanese-Chinese Dictionary
  • ポケットプログレッシブ韓日・日韓辞典 = Pocket Progressive Korean-Japanese/Japanese-Korean Dictionary

Japanese-Japanese Dictionary

  • 日本国語大辞典 = Shogakukan Unabridged Dictionary of the Japanese Language
  • デジタル大辞泉 = Digital Dai-ji-sen Japanese Dictionary
  • 情報・知識 imidas(イミダス)  = Innovative Multi-Information Dictionary, Annual Series
  • 現代用語の基礎知識 = Encyclopedia of contemporary words

Encyclopedia

  • 日本大百科全書 (ニッポニカ) = Complete Japanese Encyclopedia (Encyclopedia Nipponica)
  • ニッポニカ・プラス = Nipponica Plus

And this may come in handy if you are planning a visit to Japan...

  • 平成ニッポン生活便利帳 = Useful Information for Life in Japan in the Heisei Era

  

See the Contents page of this LibGuide for full listing. 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
International and Area Studies Library

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Steve Witt
 

Get Research Help From a Librarian!

Get Individualized Research Help from a Librarian & Make an Appointment

Now you can request individualized research consultation with a librarian via online form. To make an appointment, please click on the link below and fill out the form:

Individual Research Consultation Form

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip