Admin Sign In 

Latin American & Caribbean: Historical Research Guide  Tags: latin_america spanish portuguese historical_research history  

Last update: Jul 30, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LAC_historical_research  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

History at UIUC

For more resources for historical research, visit the History, Newspaper & Philosophy Library (HNPL) or consult one of their many helpful LibGuides using the tags "history" or "historical research."

For an excellent introduction to historical research, see the HNPL's Introduction to Historical Research

 

RefWorks

Make your life easier: use RefWorks! Refworks is an online database that let's you store bibliographic citations from library catalogs and databases, such as MLA, generate annotated bibliographies and citations in a wide range of citation styles and share bibliographies with classmates and colleagues through RefShare.

 
 

Good starting points

Q. 980.00321 C1441992 (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.

972.9003 En19 (Undergrad. Lib. and Ref.Lib.)
Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures. London ; New York : Routledge, 2000. 3 Vols.

Q. 980.003 EN19 (Undergrad. Lib. and Ref. Lib.)
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. New York : C. Scribner’s Sons, 1996. 5 Vols.

Q. 320.9803 En192 (Fef. Lib.)
Encyclopedia of Latin American politics. Westport, Conn.: Oryx Press, 2002.

303.609803 K828h (Hist. Lib)
Historical dictionary of the "dirty wars." Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2003.

Latin America: a guide to the historical literature

016.98 C639l (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
Latin American studies: an annotated bibliography of core work. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2002.

Q. 980.003 L349 (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
Latinoamericana : enciclopédia contemporânea da América Latina e do Caribe. São Paulo, 2006.

Q. 972.01 Ox25 (Ed. & Soc. Sci. Lib.)
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: the civilizations of Mexico and Central America. Oxford, 2001. 3 Vols.

Q. 980.00202 H383r (Hist. Lib & Undergrad. Lib)
A reference guide to Latin American history. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, 2000.

Wikipedia Beware: Not all in Wikipedia is correct! Nor is it a scholarly resource.

 

LAC Listservs

H-Caribbean

H-Latin America

 

LA&C Library Resources Homepage

LA&C Library Collections & Services Homepage

 

Latin American & Caribbean Library Collections and Services

Profile ImagePaula Carns, interim librarian
Contact Info:
pcarns@illinois.edu
425 Main Library
1408 W Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL
Tel: (217) 244-0483
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Hours M-F 9-5
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait