Arts & HumanitiesSocial SciencesGeneral Reference
This is the "Home" page of the "Latin American & Caribbean: Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American & Caribbean: Research Guide   Tags: caribbean, human_rights, international_and_area_studies, latin_america  

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2014 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LAC_orientation Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Collections and Services

Latin American & Caribbean Website


Antonio Sotomayor, PhD
Librarian for Latin American and Caribbean Studies

337A Main Library
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL  61801
Phone: (217)300-4812
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Email: asotomay@illinois.edu 

Paula Mae Carns, PhD
Librarian for Latin American and Caribbean Literature

200 South Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801  U.S.A.
Phone: (217) 333-0076
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Email: pcarns@illinois.edu

 

Starting points

Online Resources

UIUC Library Easy Search

Google Scholar--When using Google Scholar off-campus, be sure to follow the link from the library website in order to have access to the articles.

Wikipedia--Beware: Not all in Wikipedia is correct! Nor is it a scholarly resource.

Encyclopedias

Diccionario Biográfico Español (2009) (Coming soon to the Reference Library)

Q. 980.00321 C1441992 (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.

972.9003 En19 (Undergrad. Lib. and Reference Lib.)
Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures. London ; New York : Routledge, 2000. 3 Vols.

Q. 980.003 EN19 (Undergrad. Lib. and Reference Lib.)
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. New York : C. Scribner’s Sons, 1996. 5 Vols.

Q. 980.003 L349 (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
Latinoamericana : enciclopédia contemporânea da América Latina e do Caribe. São Paulo, 2006.

Q. 972.01 Ox25 (Ed. & Soc. Sci. Lib.)
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: the civilizations of Mexico and Central America. Oxford, 2001. 3 Vols.or
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures

 

History at UIUC

For more resources for historical research, visit the History, Newspaper & Philosophy Library (HNPL) or consult one of their many helpful LibGuides using the tags "history" or "historical research."

For an excellent introduction to historical research, see the HNPL's Introduction to Historical Research

 

LA&C at UIUC

The Latin American and Caribbean collection includes materials about the entire Latin American and Caribbean region and also about Hispanic American communities in the United States. Collection development concentrates on materials largely in the social sciences and humanities, covering such disciplines as history, anthropology, political science, sociology, literature, linguistics and economics. These materials are scattered throughout the UIUC Main Library Stacks and departmental libraries:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip