This is the "Home" page of the "Latin American and Caribbean Studies at the UIUC Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American and Caribbean Studies at the UIUC Library  

A guide for local teachers using the UIUC Library for Latin American and Caribbean research and study.
Last Updated: Nov 19, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LACteachersorientation Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Collections and Services

Latin American & Caribbean Website


Antonio Sotomayor, PhD
Librarian for Latin American and Caribbean Studies

337A Main Library
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL  61801
Phone: (217)300-4812
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Email: asotomay@illinois.edu 

Paula Mae Carns, PhD
Librarian for Latin American and Caribbean Literature

200 South Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801  U.S.A.
Phone: (217) 333-0076
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Email: pcarns@illinois.edu

 

Courtesy Cards

To learn how to obtain a UIUC Library Courtesy Card, go to http://www.library.illinois.edu/circ/services/courtesycards.html.

UIUC Courtesy Borrower Type LL : State of Illinois residents with valid ID.

 

Starting points

Encyclopedias

Please note that Patrons with Courtesy Cards can view the online encyclopedias from any UIUC Library computer.

Diccionario Biográfico Español Madrid: Real Academia de la Historia, 2009-. 50 Vols. (Coming soon)

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.

Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures. London ; New York : Routledge, 2000. 3 Vols.

Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture /. New York : C. Scribner’s Sons, 1996. 5 Vols. Online version: Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture.

Latinoamericana : enciclopédia contemporânea da América Latina e do Caribe. São Paulo, 2006.

The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures : the civilizations of Mexico and Central America. Oxford, 2001. 3 Vols.or Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures

 

Buy Children's Books in Spanish

 

LA&C at UIUC

The Latin American and Caribbean collection includes materials about the entire Latin American and Caribbean region and also about Hispanic American communities in the United States. Collection development concentrates on materials largely in the social sciences and humanities, covering such disciplines as history, anthropology, political science, sociology, literature, linguistics and economics. These materials are scattered throughout the UIUC Main Library Stacks and departmental libraries:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip