Call Numbers in Urban Planning
712 - 719
Subject Headings
Some possible search terms to use in browsing databases and catalogs:
- Landscape Architecture
- Landscape
- Architecture
- Architects
- Gardening
- Gardens
- Garden Design
- Landscape Design
- Landscape Gardening
- Landscape Industry
- Urban Beautification
ASLA News
Loading...
Land + Living
Loading...
City Planning and Landscape Architecture Collection
Welcome to the Funk ACES Library Guide to Landscape Architecture. Here you will find resources, most of them freely accessible on the Web, on the following topics:
- Landscape Architecture
- Ecological Design
- Gardens & Horticulture
- Finding Images on the Web
- and some miscellaneous topics including: conservation, and entymology and pesticides.
The City Planning and Landscape Architecture Collection is located in the Funk ACES Library. It serves the Departments of Urban & Regional Planning and Landscape Architecture, as well as the students and faculty in various disciplines across the University of Illinois. Considered one of the most interdisciplinary collections in the Library, the unit collects in the areas of land-use policy, environmental planning and law, waste management, low-cost community housing and community services, demographics, historic preservation, landscape design, ecology, third-world planning issues, local government, tourism, and many other facets of city planning and landscape architecture.
The collection is particularly well-known for its historical holdings. The landscape architecture component of the collection began with the founding of the University of Illinois in 1867; the city planning component began in 1913, when the country's first professor of city planning, Charles M. Robinson, joined the faculty. Today, the collection contains more than 150,000 volumes, more than 20,000 of which can be found in the Isaac Funk Family Library after being relocated from Mumford Hall and more than 100,000 of which can be found in the main bookstacks or Rare Book and Special Collections Library. Non-print materials, such as slide sets and videocassettes, can be found in the Undergraduate Library Media Center.
The collection also includes severalthat special collections that hold a wealth of information in the fields of Regional and Urban Planning, Landscape Architecture, and other topics associated with these areas. The majority of the material is in pamphlet, newsletter, or other ephemeral formats. Currently the collection is a browsing collection, and is not accessible for searching online. The links below provide a basic description of each collection as well as a content list. Students and faculty will find the special collections hold valuable information for their research, reports, and presentations.
- APA Illinois Chapter Annual Awards
- Cities Across the World
- Consultant Brochures
- Counties of Illinois
- Edward C. Banfield Collection
- Evert Kincaid Collection
- Illinois Planning Documents (Talen & Knaap Collection)
- Lake Michigan Development Project
LA Libraries & Related Resources
Archives of American Gardens WWW: From the Smithsonian Institution this catalog can be searched by keyword, creator or subject. Also includes several other historic archives. Click on Archival, Manuscript and Photographic Collections to access catalog.
Dumbarton Oaks Research Library WWW: Important collection of literature in Landscape Studies as well as their own publications.
Environmental Design Library at University of California, Berkeley WWW: Has over a dozen guides to all aspects of city and regional planning, many items are specific to UC users, but it is an excellent and comprehensive resource and most of the items are available at UIUC.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Funk Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES) Library 200 ACES Library, Information, and Alumni Center (LIAC) 1101 South Goodwin Avenue Urbana, IL 61801 217-333-2416 mmalliso@illinois.edu Send Email |

Loading...
