Description of Library LitSearch tipsUsing the browse featureUsing the thesaurus
Description of LISASearch tipsUsing the thesaurus
Description of LISTASearch tipsUsing LISTA's thesaurus
This is the "Home" page of the "Library and Information Science 506: Youth Services Librarianship" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library and Information Science 506: Youth Services Librarianship   Tags: children, library_and_information_science, library_science  

Highlights information resources, on the web and in print, for the study and practice of youth services librarianship for LIS 506.
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LIS506 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Services for LIS

 244 LISB

217-333-3804

For LEEP: 800-252-1360 ext.33804

Dan Tracy, Librarian  101-B SSHEL

Sandy Wolf, Library Operations Assoc.  101 Main Library

 

Librarian's Office Hours

GSLIS Room 244 (next to IT Help Desk) or online

Spring  2014

January 21 - May 7

Monday & Tuesday 3:00-5:00pm

Wednesday & Thursday 2:30-4:30pm

 

-----------------------------------------------

Hours may vary during LEEP on-campus sessions.  If these times are not convenient for you, please email lislib@library.illinois.edu or call Dan Tracy (217-300-8439) or Sandy Wolf (217-333-3804) to schedule an appointment.

 

 

Feedback, Please!

 

Your comments and suggestions are important to us -- you can help us to improve library instruction. Please vote and/or click on the comments link below to submit a comment or suggest any additional resources or topics.

Did you find this guide helpful?




 

LIS 506 and library-based research

 

Your assignments for LIS 506, Youth Services Librarianship, require you to investigate topics using sources beyond the assigned readings.  This LibGuide spotlights key resources to facilitate your search for information.  See below for links and descriptions of general tools for finding articles and books.  Use the tabs above to learn more about specialized sources in LIS, education, and children's literature, as well as sources about grants.

 

 

Useful general links

LIS Virtual Library

On the LIS Virtual LIbrary website, you can find links to recommended websites on various topics, and links to key online information sources such as encyclopedias and organizations.  Also look here for practical information on librarian office hours and contacts.

Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library

On the SSHEL website, you can find research guides and a great set of links to children's literature resources in the School Collection (or S-Collection).

Center for Children's Books

On the CCB website, you can find a substantive research guide, topical annotated bibliographies of books for young readers, and other information about children's and young adult literature.

Library Gateway

The Library Gateway brings together many tools for information seekers, including:

Easy Search

Easy Search is a one-stop search tool for the University's print collections, major online resources, and selected open access web content.  It's good for searching by topic.  But Easy Search does NOT cover LIS-specific indexes.

Journal and Article Locator

This tool is a short cut to finding known items in the Library's print and digital collections.

"LIS - Basic Information Sources - Articles"  (LibGuide) 

Formatted like the guide you're using right now, this LibGuide provides an overview of the three major journal indexes in library and information science:  Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (Library Lit); Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA); and Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA).  It also describes web search tools (Google Scholar and Scirus) and digital repositories.  Many search tips are provided.

Comparison of LISS, LISA, and INSPEC

This chart compares three key databases within the LIS-discipline on a number of factors including content coverage, date coverage, search features, and more.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Dan Tracy, Visiting Librarian for Library and Information Science and Research Support Services

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sandy Wolf
Contact Info
101 Main Library, MC-522
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801

Email: swolf2@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-3804
Send Email

SSHEL

Profile Image
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL)
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
SSHEL North (Room 100) & SSHEL South (Room 101)
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
General Telephone: (217) 333-2305
Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip