Library Services for LIS
244 LISB
217-333-3804
For LEEP: 800-252-1360 ext.33804
Dan Tracy, Librarian 101-B SSHEL
Sandy Wolf, Library Operations Assoc. 312 Main Library
Librarian's Office Hours
GSLIS Room 244 (next to IT Help Desk) or online
Spring 2013
January 14 - May 1
-----------------------------------------------
Monday - 3:30-5:00pm
Tuesday - 10:00am-12:00pm
Wednesday - 3:30-5:00pm
Thursday - 2:30-4:30pm
Friday - 9:00-10:00am
Can't come in person...? Visit us online at the above times via the GSLIS Blackboard Collaborate Drop In Room <https://courses.lis.illinois.edu/mod/page/view.php?id=97103> You can log in with your Net ID username and GSLIS password.
Hours may vary during LEEP on-campus sessions. If these times are not convenient for you, please email lislib@library.illinois.edu or call Dan Tracy (217-300-8439) or Sandy Wolf (217-333-3804) to schedule an appointment.
Feedback, Please!
Your comments and suggestions are important to us -- you can help us to improve library instruction. Please vote and/or click on the comments link below to submit a comment or suggest any additional resources or topics.
Did you find this guide helpful?
Library Search Tools
Library tools to help you find the research resources that you need!
- Easy Search - Search by keyword, title, or author to find journals, databases, articles, books, and web pages.
- Journal & Article Locator - Search for an article using information you have, such as the title, author, or journal name.
- Online Journals, Newspapers, & Databases tool - Search for journals, newspapers, and databases by title. Or search for journals that are on a given subject.
- Online Reference Catalog - A collection of online reference resources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, archives, and much more.
- VuFind Catalog - Use the library’s catalog to search for books, journals, electronic materials, and other resources.
- LibGuides - Guides and materials that librarians have compiled on various subjects to help you with your research.
For more help using these resources, contact the LIS Librarian via email (lislib@library.illinois.edu) or during office hours (see box at left), or text chat with a reference librarian (see box at right).
Finding articles
Online indexes are databases of bibliographic records. Sometimes these databases also include full text. Some indexes cover books and other formats, but the primary reason to use an online index is to identify articles in journals and magazines.
Suggested strategies for searching
Choose the right tool
- To cross-search three LIS-focused databases licensed by the UI Library, the online catalog, e-book databases, and open access websites for books and articles, use LIS Easy Search.
- To search in other subject fields, use the general Easy Search.
- To conduct more advanced searches within the LIS literature, use Library Lit, LISA, and/or LISTA
- Comparison chart for Library Lit, LISA and LISTA [This chart is being updated.]
Choose what part of the bibliographic record to search within
- In most databases, a simple keyword search includes the article title, the author, and assigned subject terms. It might also include the text of an abstract, content notes, and more.
- In most databases, you can limit your search to a particular field of the record using a pull-down menu.
Use the "controlled vocabulary" of each database.
- Most databases have their own "approved" subject terms. The terms for the same concept often vary among databases, even within a single discipline.
- Other labels for subject terms are descriptors and subject headings.
- Many databases provide a searchable thesaurus or a browse function that includes subject headings, enabling you to zero in on the terms used for your topic.
- Another way to discover the terms used in a particular database is to conduct a keyword search, then examine the most relevant records you retrieve to see what subject terms are assigned to them.
Use keyword searching intelligently
- Subject indexing is not perfect. How subject headings or descriptors are applied changes over time and with the individual indexer. Keyword searching can complement searches based on controlled vocabularies.
- Keyword searching is useful for proper names, brands, acronyms, etc.
- Keyword searching is useful for innovative concepts and newly coined words.
- Avoid common words like "information" or "library."
- Enclose phrases in quotation marks, e.g. "university library."
- A keyword search can lead you to relevant records, from which you can discover the subject terms used in that database.
Use Boolean operators and other options to fine-tune your search statement .
- Use the AND operator to narrow your search. For example, to find articles about sheet music, try "music AND scores."
- Use the OR operator to broaden your search or to search for synonyms or related terms. For example, "digital OR virtual OR online."
- Use the NOT operator to exclude topics from your search. For example, "classification NOT Dewey."
- Use the truncation symbol to search for word roots. For example, librar* to find articles about libraries, librarians, librarianship, etc.
- Different databases use different truncation symbols.
- The asterisk (*) and the question mark(?) are common ones.
- Use proximity operators (available in some but not all search interfaces) to specify that words appear near each other but not necessarily as a phrase. For example, "community NEAR informatics"
- Use pull-down menus (available in some but not all search interfaces) to define the parameters of your search, such as specifying "all these words" or "any of these words."
Use the Help feature
- In most online resources, look for a button or link labelled "help" near the upper right corner of the screen.
[This box was updated on 5-30-2012]
Subject Guide |
Subject Guide |
Contact Info 312 Main Library, MC-522 1408 West Gregory Drive Urbana, IL 61801 Email: swolf2@illinois.edu Phone: (217) 333-3804 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library |
Contact Info SSHEL North (Room 100) & SSHEL South (Room 101) Main Library 1408 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL 61801 General Telephone: (217) 333-2305 Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864 Send Email |




Loading...
