Quick Links
- Social Work Resources Subject GuideGateway to resources in Social Work, provided by the Social Sciences, Health and Education Library. Find suggested Social Work web resources and tools, including article databases, electronic journals, external websites, new books and more!
- Guide to Sources in Social WorkBibliography of Social Work print and electronic reference resources available through the ESSL. Updated annually.
- Article Databases for Social Work ResearchSocial work/social services, psychology, medical, education and social science databases frequently used in social work research.
- University of Illinois Library CatalogFind and request books, journals and media.
- I-Share CatalogFind and request books from other academic libraries in Illinois. Useful when UIUC does not have a book or the UIUC copy is unavailable.
- How do I...Request a Book through I-Share or ILLiadVideo tutorial on requesting books not available from UIUC library, through I-Share (Illinois academic libraries) or ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).
- How do I...Request an Article through Interlibrary LoanInstructions and links to request a copy of a journal article through ILLiad when it is not available through University of Illinois print or online resources.
- RefWorksCitation management webtool provided free to University of Illinois students by the Library.
- Course ReservesVideo tutorial on how to find the Course Reserves for your class.
Welcome to the Social Work Orientation Library Guide!
This guide provides an overview of the subjects covered in the library orientation session for new School of Social Work MSW students, and links to the resources and tools. The information in this guide will remain available year-round, for quick and easy access later on.
Orientation Session Goals: In this session, you will learn...
- Who to contact for help with your library research
- How to navigate the Library webpages to find course reserves, databases, the library catalog and guides to Social Work research
- Which subject-specific databases to search for social work journal articles, and how to find the full-text of journal articles
- How to use the Library Catalog to request books from UIUC and from other I-Share Libraries
- The benefits of using a citation management tool (like Refworks) to organize your research
- What library resources and services are available to you during your internship semester(s)
Remember: This is a good place to start, but there is much more library information and assistance available than would fit in this guide! Check the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library home page and the University of Illinois Library home page for additional help and resources.
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library: Your "Home Base"
ATTENTION: Beginning in Fall 2012, the home library for Social Work resources and services will be the new Social Sciences, Health and Education Library (SSHEL). The Education and Social Science Library will be joining forces with the Applied Health Sciences Library in this new unit, with a new website and enhanced resources. The information below and in other pages of this guide will be updated periodically during this transition with the most current links and resources as they become available. Thank you!
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL) Website: http://www.library.illinois.edu/edx/
The Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library provides specialized resources, reference services and instruction for the departments of anthropology, Asian American studies, economics, gender and women's studies, geography & geographic information science, political science, psychology, and sociology; the College of Applied Health Sciences; College of Education; the School of Social Work; the School of Labor and Employment Relations; and the Graduate School of Library and Information Science.
SSHEL is located on the first floor of the Main Library, and includes reference and circulation services, circulating and non-circulating books, journals, and reference sources, quiet study areas, computer terminals, printers/copiers/scanners, and friendly librarians and staff.
Hours, Location, Staff Contacts, Loan Policies and more at About Us.
Need library help? Contact us!
Send IM to askillinois
Call SSHEL reference desk: (217) 244-1864
To request an individual research consultation appointment with an ESSL librarian, submit a request using the Individual Research Consultation form.
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library |
Contact Info SSHEL North (Room 100) & SSHEL South (Room 101) Main Library 1408 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL 61801 General Telephone: (217) 333-2305 Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864 Send Email |
Visiting Anthropology/Sociology Librarian |
Contact Info Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL) 100 Main Library 1408 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL 61801 (217) 244-1866 Send Email |


Loading...
