- Academic Search Complete. UIUC.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text access over 9,000 journals in a variety of subjects.
- AGRICOLA (Agriculture Online Access -- The National Agricultural Library Catalog)
[From NAL] The National Agricultural Library is one of four national libraries of the United States, with locations in Beltsville, Maryland and Washington, D.C. It houses one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries. In fiscal year 2005 (Oct 2004 through Sept 2005) NAL delivered more than 80 million direct customer service transactions.
- America: History and Life. UIUC
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries.
- Art Index Retrospective. UIUC
Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Covers architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art; crafts; decorative arts; fashion; folk art and more.
- Art Source UIUC
[From H. W. Wilson. covers fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more. In recent years, coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art has expanded greatly, along with its material on new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
- ArtStor UIUC
[From ArtStor]The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Inc. approx. 5000 images from Fdn. of Landscape Studies. These images provide an overview of landscape studies, encompassing all cultural landscapes, including gardens, parks, cities, suburbs, rural areas, and the humanized wilderness.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. UIUC
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals in architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Covers 1977 to present.
- Best Practices Database
This searchable database contains proven solutions to common social, economic, and environmental problems of an urbanizing and globalizing world. This database is a powerful tool for analyzing current trends and emerging issues.
- Bibliography of the History of Art. UIUC
From The Getty
. Bibliography of the History of Art is
a merger of RILA and the Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie. 2000-present.
- Business Source Complete. UIUC
Indexes periodicals in business including management, finance and economics, many in full text.
- CAB Abstracts. UIUC
CAB Abstracts is one of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature. Some of the disciplines covered include agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, plant sciences, and some coverage in landscape and planning research. CAB Abstracts is a product of the Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International (CABI), a not-for-profit organization.
- Council of Planning Librarians (CPL) Bibliographies. UIUC 1999-present
Published in Journal of Planning Literature, which includes review articles, annotated bibliographies, listings and abstracts of recent literature in city and regional planning design.Each JPL issue contains one to three refereed literature reviews and Council of Planning Librarians Bibliographies; book reviews; several hundred abstracts of books, journal articles, dissertations, and several hundred bibliographic listings.
- Department of Housing and Urban Development
The HUD website contains articles exclusively dedicated to housing and community development issues. Provides free downloads of over 1.000 research reports, articles, books, monographs, and data sources in housing policy, building technology, economic development, urban planning, and a host of other relevant fields.
- Design and Applied Arts Index. UIUC
n international index to design and craft journals. It currently contains nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals published between 1973-2001 (most articles date from 1987), and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making the largest database of its kind in the world. Between 10,000-15,000 references are added annually.
- Engineering Village. UIUC
Engineering Village identifies research articles, conference articles and proceedings, report reviews and chapters, monograph reviews and chapters, and patents in engineering and physics literature including landscape and planning areas. Includes the Compendex, El Patents, Geobase, NTIS, and INSPEC databases. 1884-present (Compendex) 1968-present (INSPEC) in UIUC Library Database Collection
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts. UIUC
Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. More than 700 primary journals are thoroughly indexed and abstracted. Over 2,500 additional sources, including monographs and conference proceedings, are also monitored for relevant articles.
- Forest Service Database -- WWW
Maintained by the US Forest Service this open access database is an index to publications on parks, park services and land use issues and includes maps as well as text based resources.
- Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index. UIUC
Identifies articles about horticulture, gardening and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. Designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history. Over 300 core titles are indexed and abstracted, the majority of which are published in English. The index includes periodicals of the major learned societies in horticulture, botany, ....
- Geobase. UIUC
Includes citations and abstracts for over 2,000 research-oriented periodicals in development studies, the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. Covers 1980 - present.
- GeoRef. UIUC
[From AGI] Established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3.1 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
- Index to Current Urban Documents. UIUC
[From ICUD] Provides information for all urban-related issues inc. landscape architecture, gardens & gardening, horticulture, parks, and trees. Contains reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies from approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada. 1995 - present online. Print: 1972-- 016.30136 In3 Reference Index only
Identifies older articles in many disciplines. 1962-present (with a 5 year delay)
- Landscape Architecture Magazine Index -- WWW
Online index to all articles published in LAM. 1996--present.
- Landscape Architecture Theses at UIUC -- WWW
A chronological list of Masters' theses, 1927-2006, completed by individual students in the Department of Landscape Architecture at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Most call numbers are given, but some may need to be searched by author or title from the online catalog
. Full text in UIUC IDEALS repository
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues.
- Periodicals Archive Online -- UIUC
An electronic index to millions of articles published in thousands of scholarly and popular periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. PCI provides context for each entry by displaying it within the table of contents from the original source journal. The scope is worldwide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages. Indexes journals in city planning and urban studies as well as landscape architecture and the environment
- Periodicals Contents Index
An electronic index to millions of articles published in thousands of scholarly and popular periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. PCI provides context for each entry by displaying it within the table of contents from the original source journal. The scope is worldwide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages. Indexes journals in city planning and urban studies as well as landscape architecture and the environment.
- Practice Ready Papers (PRP) Database
Contains papers "in which the research results presented and discussed make a contribution to the solution of current or future problems or issues for practitioners ... [and] ... is ready for immediate implementation or requires minimal additional research or implementation effort."
- OECD iLibrary
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)'s online library of books, papers, and statistics; many resources related to urban & regional development. Lots of international information.
- Research in Progress (RiP) Database
"Contains more than 12,000 current or recently completed transportation research projects, mostly those funded by the modal administrations of the U.S. Department of Transportation, state Departments of Transportation (DOTs), or by TRB's cooperative research programs."
- Research Needs Statements (RNS) Database
Contains research needs statements for transportation issues.
- Scopus (SciVerse Scopus). UIUC
Covers over 19,000 titles from around the world, incuding peer-reviewed journals, conference papers, trade pbulications, book series, scientific webpages, patent records, and articles-in-press (linited to partipcating journals). 78% of references 1996 to present, remaining records pre-1996. Several tools such as Scopus Citation Tracker, Author Profile, Jouranl Analyzer, and Scopus Application Program Interface (API). Multi-disciplinary, including landscape artchitecture.
- SocIndex with Full Text. UIUC
The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,840 selective journals, 630 priority journals, and 815 core journals.
- Sociological Abstracts Database. UIUC
The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serial publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain abstracts of journal articles. Major areas of coverage include: community development, culture and social structure, demography and human biology, environmental interactions, evaluation research, family and social welfare, history and theory of sociology, management and complex organizations, ...
- Statistical Insight
Provided by Proquest, Statistical Insight covers federal, state, and international statistics from a variety of sources. Includes housing, census, income statistics and more.
- NUsearch (formerly TRANweb)
From Northwestern University Transportation Library. Indexes scholarly articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, and other material on transportation and law enforcement topics.
- TRB Publications Index
"Pubsindex contains bibiliographic information on almost 48,000 papers, articles, and reports published by the Highway Research Board, Transportation Research Board, Strategic Highway Research Program, and the Marine Board."
- TRID, the TRIS and ITRD Database
"The world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic source on transportation information. It contains more than 1,000,000 records of published and ongoing research, covering all modes and disciplines of transportation as well as some trade publications (e.g. Mass Transit."
The United Nations Human Settlements Programme is the United Nations agency for human settlements. It is mandated by the UN General Assembly to promote socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all. The Global Urban Observatory helps governments gather urban data and monitor critical urban indicators.
- Urban Studies Abstracts
This database covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas.
- Web of Science. UIUC
Indexes journals and provides complete bibliographic data, full length author abstracts, and cited references. Indexes currently available are: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Can also be used to find reviews. The Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index are available from 1955 to the present. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is available from 1975 to the present.