This is the "Home" page of the "Anatomy & Physiology Literature Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Admin Sign In 

Anatomy & Physiology Literature Guide  Tags: biology anatomy physiology  

Find here selected reference and other anatomy and physiology works.
Last update: Aug 14th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/anat_phys  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

University Library Resources Access

 

Some resources provided by the University Library may require netid/password access from non-campus computers. An automatic prompt will occur for those resources that require this.  For any questions, please Ask a Librarian.

 

Location

UIUC access only--login required for off-campus use = University Library subscription -- off-campus use by University of Illinois students, faculty, and staff only via netid / password

* = Online version available from the Online Research Resources
(ORR)
database.

Call numbers are for Biology Library items unless otherwise indicated.


Bibl. = bibliography collection in the Biology Library, second stacks floor. 
Ref.  = reference collection in the Biology Library, reading room. 
Res. = course reserves area in the Biology Library, behind the circulation desk

 
 

Introduction

Welcome to the Anatomy & Physiology Literature Guide. 

This guide contains selected core reference and other literature finding aids for this subject area. 

 

Definitions:

Anatomy is "the branch of science concerned with the bodily structure of humans, animals, and other living organisms, especially as revealed by dissection and the separation of parts."¹   more

Physiology is "the branch of biology concerned with the vital functions of plants and animals, such as nutrition, respiration, reproduction, and excretion."²  more

Also see "History of Classical Anatomy" and "History of Physiology" from the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences.

 

References

1. "anatomy noun"  The Oxford Dictionary of English (revised edition). Ed. Catherine Soanes and Angus Stevenson. Oxford University Press, 2005. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign.  25 June 2008 

2. "physiology"  A Dictionary of Biology. Elizabeth Martin and Robert Hine. Oxford University Press, 2008. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign.  25 June 2008  <http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t6.e3420>

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDiane Schmidt
Contact Info:
Biology Library
Send Email

 

Ask a Librarian

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait