This is the "Home" page of the "Ancient Rome - Norgard" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ancient Rome - Norgard  

Last Updated: Nov 22, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/ancientrome Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching for Books

MANY RELEVANT BOOKS ARE ON THE LIBRARY RESERVE CART, SO CHECK THERE FIRST.

Finding books  using the UIUC Online Catalog:

1. First do a search in the  UIUC Online Catalog.

2.Start broadly with a keyword search, then try a more specific subject search using the dropdown menu to the right of the search box.

3. Once you have your search results, you can request books from across the university or use the sidebar on the right side to limit your search results by LOCATION if you want books only from Uni.

Browsing the Uni collection:

1. Walk back to the non-fiction room.

2. Look for call number 937.

3. Examine the titles for something that sounds interesting/appropriate.

4. Check out the book(s).

5. Remember that Ms. Harris, Paul, and Amy are here to help if you have any questions.

Online Dictionaries, Encylopedias, and Other Resources

  • Ancient History Encyclopedia
    A searchable, online tool that includes not only articles, but also a navigable timeline.
  • Oxford Classical Dictionary
    Covers topics such as: athletics, bee-keeping, botany, magic, Roman law, religious rites, postal service, slavery, navigation, and the reckoning of time. The Dictionary profiles every major figure of Greece and Rome, from Homer and Virgil, to Plato and Aristotle, to Tacitus and Thucydides, to Julius Caesar and Alexander the Great, as well as lesser known figures. Readers will find entries on mythological and legendary figures, on major cities, famous buildings, and important geographical landmarks, and on legal, rhetorical, literary, and political terms and concepts. (From website.)
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Classic Greece and Rome
    Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. Features broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths. (From website.)
  • De Imperatoribus Romanis
    An online encyclopedia of Roman rulers and their families.
  • Suetonius, Lives of the Twelve Caesars
    This primary source serves as a memoir of various Roman emperors, as detailing their personalities and behaviors, as well as sharing anecdotes about their lives.
  • Credo Reference
    A solid starting point for general overviews of topics within Roman history.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    After you search your topic terms (e.g. "ancient Rome"), Gale connects you to a variety of subtopics discussed in a variety of reference sources.

Databases

Start with MasUltra: this student-friendly database should provide most of what you need for scholarly articles on ancient Rome, as well as reference

Want to get more advanced? These databases offer scholarly articles on the Roman monarchy, the Roman Republic, and/or the Roman Empire. Pro tip: Interest in this time period spans countries and languages; use the advanced search option to narrow your results by language so that you're not trying to read German scholarship!

Subject Guide

Profile Image
University Laboratory High School Library
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
1212 W. Springfield Avenue
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1589
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip