This is the "Home" page of the "Treasures Discovered in Japanese Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Admin Sign In 

Treasures Discovered in Japanese Collection  Tags: asia asian history japan japanese  

This guide provides information on interesting/unusual books discovered from Japanese Collection in the Asian Library.
Last update: Oct 09th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/asian_japanese_discovery  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

News

Japanese Database Workshop

Date: October 20, 2009

Time: 2:00-3:00

Location: Lucy Ellis Lounge, Foreign Language Building

Learn about resources for Meiji, Taisho and early Showa research:

  • Kikuzo II (Asahi Shimbun database) 

  • Koseisha Database

  • Other Online Resources

Posted by Makiko Ishizawa 10/09/2009

Loading RSS Feed...
 

Asian Library

Asian Library

Hours: 8:30am-5pm M-F

325 Main Library
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801 (MC522)

Phone: 217.333.1501

Campus Map

 

Japanese Collection & Resources

For more information on Japanese Collection at UIUC and Japanese Studies resources, see Japanese Collection page.

 

国立国会図書館 近代デジタルライブラリー

国立国会図書館 近代デジタルライブラリー:
明治・大正時代刊行図書の資料本文をデジタル画像で閲覧できるサービスです。現在、約15万冊が収録されています。


"Digital Library from Meiji and Taisho Era," (in Japanese) National Diet Library:
provides digitized images of books published during the Meiji and Taisho eras (1868-1926).  About 150,000 volumes are currently available.
 
 

即席料理素人庖丁:附手軽西洋料理

 

Title:
素人庖丁 : 即席料理
shirōto hōchō :sokuseki ryōri 

明治時代に出版された献立、調理法、食材等を説明した料理本。
バターの作り方、牛肉の調理法、カツレツ、サンドイッチなど西洋料理の作り方も紹介されている。
また、歴史ある日本料理店として知られる瓢亭の主人の著作という点でも興味深い。
アメリカ国内では、UIUCのほかに2館、日本では2館のみが所蔵している。
国立国会図書館 近代デジタルライブラリーで本文のデジタル画像が閲覧可能。

Author(s):
赤志忠雅堂. Akashi Chūgadō,

Publication:
大坂市 : 赤志忠雅堂, 明治 26 [1893]
Ōsaka-shi : Akashi Chūgadō,


Description:
2冊(上・下120p); 2 v. : ill. ; 19 cm.


Other Titles: 
即席料理素人庖丁 : 附・手軽西洋料理.
Sokuseki ryōri shirōto hōchō : tsuketari, tegaru Seiyō ryōri.

Note(s):  
下:表紙裏の著書名:瓢亭主人(草書体). 
附:手軽西洋料理. 
和装
On double leaves, oriental style
Joseph K. Yamagiwa Book Collection

SUBJECT(S):
Cookery, Japanese. 
Cookery -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.


Call Number:
TX 724.5 .J3 S62
Non-circulating.  Please ask for assistance.

 

Posted by Makiko Ishizawa
09/09/2009
 

西哲夢物語

Title:西哲夢物語 Seitetsu yume monogatari.

グナイストの講義内容などを収録し、明治憲法制定前に政府の制定しつつあった憲法の内容を暴露した秘密出版物。
表紙に「禁売買」と記載されている。
アメリカ国内では、UIUCの他にオハイオ州立大で所蔵のマイクロフィルム版のみ。
国立国会図書館 近代デジタルライブラリーで本文のデジタル画像が閲覧可能。
Author(s):
Unknown

Publication:
Unknown, 明治 20 [1887]

Description:
140 p. ; 18 cm.


Other Titles: 
N/A

Note(s):  
「明治20年自由民権派によって秘密出版された憲法制定関係資料を収めた小冊子」(国史大辞典)

SUBJECT(S):
Constitutional history -- Japan.

 

Call Number:
Uncataloged.
Non-circulating.  Please a librarian ask for assistance.

 

 

Posted by Makiko Ishizawa
09/09/2009
 

家庭教師としての母

Title:
家庭教師としての母
Katei kyōshi to shite no haha

明治時代の著名なドイツ語学者、教育家として知られる大村仁太郎による家庭教育入門書。「荒唐無稽なる御伽噺を物語るべからず。」など、当時の母親への教育書として現在と異なる点が興味深く、またジェンダーの観点からも資料的な価値がある。1996年に「平成の母よ!大村仁太郎『家庭教師としての母』に学ぶ」が出版されている。

アメリカ国内では、UIUCの他に2館のみが所蔵。
国立国会図書館近代日本人の肖像で著者大村仁太郎の略歴や著作本文のデジタル画像が閲覧可能。

 

Author(s):
大村 仁太郎
Jintarō  Ōmura

Publication:
東京:同文館
Tōkyō : Dōbunkan, 明治 38 [1905]

Description:
340 p. ; 22 cm.
和装
Oriental binding.

Other Titles: 
N/A

Note(s):  

SUBJECT(S):
Mothers -- Japan. 
Mother and child. 
Child rearing.

 

Call Number:
HQ759 .K45x

 

 

 

Posted by Makiko Ishizawa
09/09/2009
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSetsuko Noguchi
Contact Info:
Asian Library, 244-9424
Send Email

Subjects:
Japanese Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait