Browse By Subject
- African American Studies
- African Studies
- Agriculture
- American Literature
- Anthropology
- Architecture
- Art & Architecture
- Big Read
- Biology
- Business & Economics
- Chemistry
- City Planning
- Classics
- Current Topics
- Dance
- East Asian Studies
- Education
- Engineering
- English
- Environmental Science
- ESL
- European Union
- Exhibits
- Film Studies
- Gender and Women’s Studies
- Geography
- Geology
- Germanic Languages
- Global Studies
- Government Documents
- Health & Medicine
- History
- Italian
- Labor & Employment Relations
- Landscape Architecture
- Latin America
- Law
- Library Science
- Library Services
- Literature
- Literatures and Languages
- Music
- Natural History
- Political Science
- Portuguese
- Psychology
- Rare Books
- Religious Studies
- Savvy Researcher
- Slavic
- Slavic & East European
- Social Work
- Sociology
- South Asian Studies
- Spanish
- Speech Communication
- Sports & Kinesiology
- Student Life
- Theatre
- Undergraduate Library
- University Archives
- University Laboratory High School Library
- Veterinary Medicine
History
African American Studies 100
- Last Updated Feb 23, 2010
Guide to library resources on historical topics for African American Studies 100
- Last Updated Feb 23, 2010
Guide to library resources on historical topics for African American Studies 100
American Indian Studies Library Resources
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2013
Guide to UIUC's extensive collection of resources for the study of American Indians, including books, newspaper articles and videos.
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2013
Guide to UIUC's extensive collection of resources for the study of American Indians, including books, newspaper articles and videos.
Building Lives in Soviet Central Asia
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
This guide is designed for the 2012 Junior Scholars Training Workshop on Central Asia. Moderator: Shoshana Keller, PhD., Hamilton College
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
This guide is designed for the 2012 Junior Scholars Training Workshop on Central Asia. Moderator: Shoshana Keller, PhD., Hamilton College
Central Asian Sovereignty in the Face of Massive Economic Dislocation
- Last Updated Jun 7, 2012
This guide is designed for 2010 Junior Scholars Training Workshop. Moderator: Russell Zanca, Ph.D., Northeastern Illinois University, Anthropology
- Last Updated Jun 7, 2012
This guide is designed for 2010 Junior Scholars Training Workshop. Moderator: Russell Zanca, Ph.D., Northeastern Illinois University, Anthropology
Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey
- Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
Guide to using the microfilm and digital versions of the Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey, a collection consisting of a file of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.
- Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
Guide to using the microfilm and digital versions of the Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey, a collection consisting of a file of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.
Digital Historian Series: Using Digital Tools For Archival Research
- Last Updated Nov 20, 2012
This guide is for scholars interested in using digital photography in their archival research.
- Last Updated Nov 20, 2012
This guide is for scholars interested in using digital photography in their archival research.
EALC 550/398 Law and Society in Chinese History
- Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
EALC 550/398 Law and Society in Chinese History
- Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
EALC 550/398 Law and Society in Chinese History
East Asian Languages and Cultures 550: Legal History of China
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2010
A course guide.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2010
A course guide.
Educational Policy Studies 199BAR: Vietnam and Global Student Protests
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2009
Course guide.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2009
Course guide.
Educational Policy Studies 421: Racial and Ethnic Families
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
A course guide.
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
A course guide.
Farm, Field and Fireside: Immigrant Labor
- Last Updated Apr 1, 2010
A subject guide that examines the history of immigrants as farm and rural industry laborers from approximately 1890 to 1920.
- Last Updated Apr 1, 2010
A subject guide that examines the history of immigrants as farm and rural industry laborers from approximately 1890 to 1920.
Farm, Field and Fireside: Serialized Fiction
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2010
A subject guide on the history of serialized fiction published in nineteenth- and early twentieth-century periodicals.
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2010
A subject guide on the history of serialized fiction published in nineteenth- and early twentieth-century periodicals.
Finding and Using African American Newspapers
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Covers how to identify newspapers published in a particular locality; how to look for extant copies; determining which newspapers are available in digital format
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Covers how to identify newspapers published in a particular locality; how to look for extant copies; determining which newspapers are available in digital format
Fluid Future: Understanding the Black Sea as a Region
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A Guide for Eurasian Studies Training Workshop for Junior Scholars. Moderator: Prof. Charles King, Georgetown University.
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A Guide for Eurasian Studies Training Workshop for Junior Scholars. Moderator: Prof. Charles King, Georgetown University.
Genealogy Resources
- Last Updated Nov 16, 2012
A guide to finding genealogical materials at the University of Illinois Library.
- Last Updated Nov 16, 2012
A guide to finding genealogical materials at the University of Illinois Library.
Guide to Folklore Resources
- Last Updated Aug 14, 2012
Guide to on-campus, regional, and general folklore resources
- Last Updated Aug 14, 2012
Guide to on-campus, regional, and general folklore resources
History 200C: Family, Gender and Law: Transitions, East and West
- Last Updated Aug 6, 2012
A course guide to library resources.
- Last Updated Aug 6, 2012
A course guide to library resources.
History 200E: Race and the City
- Last Updated Oct 6, 2009
Course guide, emphasizes Chicago, 1880-present.
- Last Updated Oct 6, 2009
Course guide, emphasizes Chicago, 1880-present.
History 200F: Class and Citizenship in Postwar America: the Rise and Fall of the American Working Classes
- Last Updated Mar 8, 2010
A course guide, focusing on 1930-2000.
- Last Updated Mar 8, 2010
A course guide, focusing on 1930-2000.
History 470 - African American Studies 453: Plantation Society in the Americas
- Last Updated Sep 13, 2011
- Last Updated Sep 13, 2011
History 492C: Historiography and Methodology
- Last Updated Mar 1, 2010
A course guide. Describes library resources for conducting historical research.
- Last Updated Mar 1, 2010
A course guide. Describes library resources for conducting historical research.
History 495: Africa and Decolonization
- Last Updated Feb 9, 2010
A course guide. Emphasizes the decolonization of sub-Saharan British Africa, 1950-1980.
- Last Updated Feb 9, 2010
A course guide. Emphasizes the decolonization of sub-Saharan British Africa, 1950-1980.
History 495AH/498A: American Public Health and Health Policy, ca. 1865-1970
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A course guide.
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A course guide.
History 498: Chicago: An Ethnic and Racial History
- Last Updated Oct 14, 2010
A guide to library resources.
- Last Updated Oct 14, 2010
A guide to library resources.
History 498A/495A: U.S. Inequalities, Gilded Age to the Present
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2012
A course guide.
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2012
A course guide.
History 498B: Getting Personal: Life Writing as History in Modern Europe
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2009
A course guide.
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2009
A course guide.
History 498B: Lincoln, Visual Culture, and Nation Building
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2009
A course guide.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2009
A course guide.
History 498B: U.S. Cultures of Space and Place, 1830-2000
- Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
A course guide.
- Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
A course guide.
History 498D: Global Encounters - Narratives of Conquest, Exploration, and Settlement
- Last Updated Mar 5, 2012
A course guide.
- Last Updated Mar 5, 2012
A course guide.
History 498D: The Foreign Gaze: Latin America in the Eyes of Travelers, Missionaries, Scientists, Engineers, Businessmen, and Diplomats, 1750-1950
- Last Updated Oct 12, 2011
A course guide
- Last Updated Oct 12, 2011
A course guide
History 498F: Finding Book Reviews
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2009
strategies for searching JSTOR, Project Muse, Historical Abstracts, the History Cooperative, and Expanded Academic ASAP specifically for book reviews
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2009
strategies for searching JSTOR, Project Muse, Historical Abstracts, the History Cooperative, and Expanded Academic ASAP specifically for book reviews
History 498H: Obscenity, Censorship, and the Regulation of Morals in the United States from 1873 to the Present
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2009
Course guide.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2009
Course guide.
History 498H: Romantic Democracy, Politics and Literature in the Age of Jackson
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2009
A guide to library resources.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2009
A guide to library resources.
History 498K: 1960s Radicalism in the United States and Beyond
- Last Updated Mar 3, 2011
A course guide.
- Last Updated Mar 3, 2011
A course guide.
History 498K: A Catastrophic Dependence or "More oil, ever more oil!"
- Last Updated Oct 15, 2009
Course guide to library resources on the history of petroleum use
- Last Updated Oct 15, 2009
Course guide to library resources on the history of petroleum use
History 573A: Immigration, Race, and Class in the 20th Century United States
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2011
A course guide.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2011
A course guide.
HPNL for EALC Students
- Last Updated Nov 16, 2009
A guide to the resources of the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library for graduate students in East Asian Languages and cultures.
- Last Updated Nov 16, 2009
A guide to the resources of the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library for graduate students in East Asian Languages and cultures.
Jewish Studies
- Last Updated May 2, 2013
A general introduction to library resources for Jewish studies. Intended audience: undergraduate students. The guide assumes no specialist background in Jewish studies.
- Last Updated May 2, 2013
A general introduction to library resources for Jewish studies. Intended audience: undergraduate students. The guide assumes no specialist background in Jewish studies.
Library Guide for History Graduate Students
- Last Updated Aug 19, 2011
Basic, up-to-date how-to information important for any History Graduate student.
- Last Updated Aug 19, 2011
Basic, up-to-date how-to information important for any History Graduate student.
Library Research for History Students: an Introduction
- Last Updated May 2, 2013
A general guide to using the library for historical research.
- Last Updated May 2, 2013
A general guide to using the library for historical research.
Microforms
- Last Updated Aug 30, 2012
A guide to finding and using microfilm and microfiche at UIUC Library.
- Last Updated Aug 30, 2012
A guide to finding and using microfilm and microfiche at UIUC Library.
National Bibliography and Publishing in Afghanistan, 1871-2009
- Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
A guide to the history and bibliography of printed works in the languages of Afghanistan before, during and after the Soviet occupation of 1979-1989
- Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
A guide to the history and bibliography of printed works in the languages of Afghanistan before, during and after the Soviet occupation of 1979-1989
Obscenity, Censorship and the Regulation of Morals in the United States from 1873 to the Present
- Last Updated Sep 19, 2012
A guide prepared for History 498H
- Last Updated Sep 19, 2012
A guide prepared for History 498H
Polish-Jewish Studies
- Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
The guide serves as an introduction to Polish-Jewish studies and draws on Polish and Jewish studies collections of the UIUC Library.
- Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
The guide serves as an introduction to Polish-Jewish studies and draws on Polish and Jewish studies collections of the UIUC Library.
Powers and History of the U.S. Presidency
- Last Updated Jan 6, 2013
An Undergraduate Library Subject Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic Powers and History of the U.S. Presidency.
- Last Updated Jan 6, 2013
An Undergraduate Library Subject Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic Powers and History of the U.S. Presidency.
Presidential Campaigns and Elections
- Last Updated Jan 19, 2013
An Undergraduate Library Subject Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic Presidential Campaigns and Elections. Check out the Election 2008 Guide: http://uiuc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=20484
- Last Updated Jan 19, 2013
An Undergraduate Library Subject Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic Presidential Campaigns and Elections. Check out the Election 2008 Guide: http://uiuc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=20484
Religious Studies 235: History of Religion in America: Diversity, Discord, Dialogue
- Last Updated Nov 24, 2010
Course guide.
- Last Updated Nov 24, 2010
Course guide.
Religious Studies 435 / History 486: Revivalism and Evangelicalism in America
- Last Updated Nov 18, 2009
course guide
- Last Updated Nov 18, 2009
course guide
SCR 115: South Slavic Cultures
- Last Updated Oct 7, 2010
This LibGuide is designed for students taking SCR 115. Instructor: Dr. Judith Pintar
- Last Updated Oct 7, 2010
This LibGuide is designed for students taking SCR 115. Instructor: Dr. Judith Pintar
World Cultural Assets: Ownership, Loss, Recovery, and Protection
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2013
The guide serves as an introduction to issues relating to world cultural heritage, spoils of war, Nazi looting, "displaced" cultural property, and provenance research.
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2013
The guide serves as an introduction to issues relating to world cultural heritage, spoils of war, Nazi looting, "displaced" cultural property, and provenance research.