Browse By Subject
- African American Studies
- African Studies
- Agriculture
- American Literature
- Anthropology
- Architecture
- Art & Architecture
- Big Read
- Biology
- Business & Economics
- Chemistry
- City Planning
- Classics
- Current Topics
- Dance
- East Asian Studies
- Education
- Engineering
- English
- Environmental Science
- ESL
- European Union
- Exhibits
- Film Studies
- Gender and Women’s Studies
- Geography
- Geology
- Germanic Languages
- Global Studies
- Government Documents
- Health & Medicine
- History
- Italian
- Labor & Employment Relations
- Landscape Architecture
- Latin America
- Law
- Library Science
- Library Services
- Literature
- Literatures and Languages
- Music
- Natural History
- Political Science
- Portuguese
- Psychology
- Rare Books
- Religious Studies
- Savvy Researcher
- Slavic
- Slavic & East European
- Social Work
- Sociology
- South Asian Studies
- Spanish
- Speech Communication
- Sports & Kinesiology
- Student Life
- Theatre
- Undergraduate Library
- University Archives
- University Laboratory High School Library
- Veterinary Medicine
Savvy Researcher
Business Information for Non-Business People
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
This guide accompanies the Savvy Researcher workshop of the same title.
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
This guide accompanies the Savvy Researcher workshop of the same title.
Current Awareness
- Last Updated Mar 10, 2013
Tools and tips for staying up-to-date on research and published literature in your field
- Last Updated Mar 10, 2013
Tools and tips for staying up-to-date on research and published literature in your field
Digital Historian Series: Using Digital Tools For Archival Research
- Last Updated Nov 20, 2012
This guide is for scholars interested in using digital photography in their archival research.
- Last Updated Nov 20, 2012
This guide is for scholars interested in using digital photography in their archival research.
EndNote
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
An overview of EndNote bibliographic management software with detailed information on getting started and customizing your software.
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
An overview of EndNote bibliographic management software with detailed information on getting started and customizing your software.
Finding Yourself: How to Know Where You Have Been Cited
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
This is a companion to the Finding Yourself workshop, which covers the three main places to search for yourself: Web of Knowledge, Scopus, and Google Scholar as well as searching for citations to your work in other library databases.
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
This is a companion to the Finding Yourself workshop, which covers the three main places to search for yourself: Web of Knowledge, Scopus, and Google Scholar as well as searching for citations to your work in other library databases.
Grants, Fellowships, and Scholarships
- Last Updated Nov 15, 2012
Find funding support for your research or studies--A guide aimed at faculty, researchers, and students
- Last Updated Nov 15, 2012
Find funding support for your research or studies--A guide aimed at faculty, researchers, and students
Improve Your Research Strategies
- Last Updated Mar 10, 2013
Learn to think like a librarian! This guide is an introduction (or a refresher) to using the library to find books and journal articles.
- Last Updated Mar 10, 2013
Learn to think like a librarian! This guide is an introduction (or a refresher) to using the library to find books and journal articles.
Literature Review Demystified
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
This guide provides an overview of the literature review and its place in a research project, thesis, or dissertation, and demonstrate some strategies and resources for finding the information you need using the U of I Library.
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
This guide provides an overview of the literature review and its place in a research project, thesis, or dissertation, and demonstrate some strategies and resources for finding the information you need using the U of I Library.
Mendeley
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Tips and instructions on getting started using the Mendeley research management software.
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Tips and instructions on getting started using the Mendeley research management software.
Mobile Media Production
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2013
Information on the numerous new options available for advanced photo, video and audio recording on your iPhone and iPad. Find creative and powerful ways to capture media, edit the media, and then integrate into your course or research.
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2013
Information on the numerous new options available for advanced photo, video and audio recording on your iPhone and iPad. Find creative and powerful ways to capture media, edit the media, and then integrate into your course or research.
Morae Guide - Usability testing
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Covers the basic functions of Moarae: recording and exporting
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Covers the basic functions of Moarae: recording and exporting
Practical Copyright
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
This workshop focuses on the basics of copyright law and some guidelines for how scholars can stay within the law using the four factors of Fair Use.
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
This workshop focuses on the basics of copyright law and some guidelines for how scholars can stay within the law using the four factors of Fair Use.
Presenting Your Research
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Are you getting ready to give your first presentation on your research? This guide will help you refine your presentation style.
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Are you getting ready to give your first presentation on your research? This guide will help you refine your presentation style.
QR Code LibGuide
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
This guide introduces QR codes, how to create them, and provides some creative ways to use them.
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
This guide introduces QR codes, how to create them, and provides some creative ways to use them.
RefWorks
- Last Updated Apr 21, 2013
An overview of RefWorks bibliographic management software with detailed information on specific features, FAQs, and troubleshooting information.
- Last Updated Apr 21, 2013
An overview of RefWorks bibliographic management software with detailed information on specific features, FAQs, and troubleshooting information.
Responsible Scholarship Practices: Plagiarism and Academic Integrity at Illinois
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
This workshop is geared toward the incoming international student who would like to familiarize themselves with the academic standards of doing research at the University of Illinois.
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
This workshop is geared toward the incoming international student who would like to familiarize themselves with the academic standards of doing research at the University of Illinois.
Savvy Job Searcher
- Last Updated Mar 11, 2013
This guide will help you manage your job search and application materials with helpful tips and tools from the web.
- Last Updated Mar 11, 2013
This guide will help you manage your job search and application materials with helpful tips and tools from the web.
Savvy Researcher: Finding Music Materials
- Last Updated Jul 2, 2012
Learn how to effectively use the library's online catalog to find recordings and printed music at the Music and Performing Arts Library. Also looks at online tools that provide printed music and audio.
- Last Updated Jul 2, 2012
Learn how to effectively use the library's online catalog to find recordings and printed music at the Music and Performing Arts Library. Also looks at online tools that provide printed music and audio.
Twitter for Professional Development
- Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Resources for learning to use Twitter, how to tweet professionally, growing your professional Twitter network, making your Twitter time more efficient, archiving Tweets, and more!
- Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Resources for learning to use Twitter, how to tweet professionally, growing your professional Twitter network, making your Twitter time more efficient, archiving Tweets, and more!
Visualizing Your Data
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
Are you having trouble crystallizing your research results into effective images? When Excel's bar graphs and pie charts are simply insufficient, there are more powerful tools which can make your data sets pop and sizzle.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
Are you having trouble crystallizing your research results into effective images? When Excel's bar graphs and pie charts are simply insufficient, there are more powerful tools which can make your data sets pop and sizzle.
What Google Scholar Can Do for You
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Improve your searching by learning tricks of the trade using advanced features of Google Scholar.
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Improve your searching by learning tricks of the trade using advanced features of Google Scholar.
What's in the Library Catalog?
- Last Updated Apr 19, 2013
Learn how to locate a variety of library resources using the library catalog.
- Last Updated Apr 19, 2013
Learn how to locate a variety of library resources using the library catalog.