Browse By Subject
- African American Studies
- African Studies
- Agriculture
- American Literature
- Anthropology
- Architecture
- Art & Architecture
- Big Read
- Biology
- Business & Economics
- Chemistry
- City Planning
- Classics
- Current Topics
- Dance
- East Asian Studies
- Education
- Engineering
- English
- Environmental Science
- ESL
- European Union
- Exhibits
- Film Studies
- Gender and Women’s Studies
- Geography
- Geology
- Germanic Languages
- Global Studies
- Government Documents
- Health & Medicine
- History
- Italian
- Labor & Employment Relations
- Landscape Architecture
- Latin America
- Law
- Library Science
- Library Services
- Literature
- Literatures and Languages
- Music
- Natural History
- Political Science
- Portuguese
- Psychology
- Rare Books
- Religious Studies
- Savvy Researcher
- Slavic
- Slavic & East European
- Social Work
- Sociology
- South Asian Studies
- Spanish
- Speech Communication
- Sports & Kinesiology
- Student Life
- Theatre
- Undergraduate Library
- University Archives
- University Laboratory High School Library
- Veterinary Medicine
Slavic & East European
Albania National Bibliography
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to different Albanian bibliographies.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to different Albanian bibliographies.
Baltic Countries Biography Resources
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Biography resources for those researching the Baltic states.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Biography resources for those researching the Baltic states.
Belarus National Bibliography
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to bibliography sources for Belarus.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to bibliography sources for Belarus.
Bibliographies of Bibliographies for all Countries/Republics of Former Yugoslavia
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Bibliography of Bibliographies for all Countries/Republics of Former Yugoslavia, including Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia, and Yugoslavia.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Bibliography of Bibliographies for all Countries/Republics of Former Yugoslavia, including Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia, and Yugoslavia.
Big Read: The Death of Ivan Ilyich
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
A guide to online resources in English about Tolstoy's "Death of Ivan Ilyich"
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
A guide to online resources in English about Tolstoy's "Death of Ivan Ilyich"
Biographical Dictionaries
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide explains what biographical dictionaries are (reference book that contains predominantly biographical articles) and points to biographical dictionaries for people interested in Slavic and East European biographical studies.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide explains what biographical dictionaries are (reference book that contains predominantly biographical articles) and points to biographical dictionaries for people interested in Slavic and East European biographical studies.
Biographical Resources for Emigres
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide covers strategies for doing research about emigres from Eastern European and Slavic countries.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide covers strategies for doing research about emigres from Eastern European and Slavic countries.
Biographical Sources for Judaica
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide covers the study of biography for Slavic and East European Jewish populations.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide covers the study of biography for Slavic and East European Jewish populations.
Bosnia and Hercegovina National Bibliography
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to several bibliography resources for Bosnia and Hercegovina.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to several bibliography resources for Bosnia and Hercegovina.
Bosnia and Hercegovina Periodical Resources
- Last Updated Feb 6, 2013
An annotated list of some printed bibliographic sources that cover periodicals from Bosnia and Hercegovina that are held by the University of Illinois.
- Last Updated Feb 6, 2013
An annotated list of some printed bibliographic sources that cover periodicals from Bosnia and Hercegovina that are held by the University of Illinois.
Building Balkan Studies: Multidisciplinary Resources
- Last Updated Oct 15, 2010
A guide to the many multidisciplinary resources for Balkan Studies.
- Last Updated Oct 15, 2010
A guide to the many multidisciplinary resources for Balkan Studies.
Building Lives in Soviet Central Asia
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
This guide is designed for the 2012 Junior Scholars Training Workshop on Central Asia. Moderator: Shoshana Keller, PhD., Hamilton College
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
This guide is designed for the 2012 Junior Scholars Training Workshop on Central Asia. Moderator: Shoshana Keller, PhD., Hamilton College
Bulgarian History
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Reference Sources on Bulgarian History including bibliographies, encyclopedias, periodical indices, dictionaries and biographical resources.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Reference Sources on Bulgarian History including bibliographies, encyclopedias, periodical indices, dictionaries and biographical resources.
Bulgarian Linguistics
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Resources for Bulgarian Linguistics including bibliographies, periodical indexes, Bulgaristika, encyclopedias, dictionaries, grammars, biography, and websites.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Resources for Bulgarian Linguistics including bibliographies, periodical indexes, Bulgaristika, encyclopedias, dictionaries, grammars, biography, and websites.
Bulgarian Literature
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Reference Sources on Bulgarian Literature including bibliographies, literary encyclopedias, literary dictionaries, periodical indexes, and chronology.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Reference Sources on Bulgarian Literature including bibliographies, literary encyclopedias, literary dictionaries, periodical indexes, and chronology.
Bulgarian Monographic Bibliography
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Annotated bibliographies for Bulgarian monographs that do not truly belong under the category of national bibliography. There are bibliographies of particular publishers or institutions, bibliographies of dissertations, and others.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Annotated bibliographies for Bulgarian monographs that do not truly belong under the category of national bibliography. There are bibliographies of particular publishers or institutions, bibliographies of dissertations, and others.
Bulgarian Periodical Resources
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Bulgarian periodical bibliographies and indexes.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Bulgarian periodical bibliographies and indexes.
Central Asian Sovereignty in the Face of Massive Economic Dislocation
- Last Updated Jun 7, 2012
This guide is designed for 2010 Junior Scholars Training Workshop. Moderator: Russell Zanca, Ph.D., Northeastern Illinois University, Anthropology
- Last Updated Jun 7, 2012
This guide is designed for 2010 Junior Scholars Training Workshop. Moderator: Russell Zanca, Ph.D., Northeastern Illinois University, Anthropology
Chekhov: A Bibliographic Research Guide
- Last Updated Mar 11, 2013
Research sources and strategies for the life and literature of Anton Pavlovich Chekhov and their impact, 1860-present, including bibliographies, databases, encyclopedias, archives, search strategies and more
- Last Updated Mar 11, 2013
Research sources and strategies for the life and literature of Anton Pavlovich Chekhov and their impact, 1860-present, including bibliographies, databases, encyclopedias, archives, search strategies and more
Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey
- Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
Guide to using the microfilm and digital versions of the Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey, a collection consisting of a file of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.
- Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
Guide to using the microfilm and digital versions of the Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey, a collection consisting of a file of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.
Czech and Slovak Bibliographies of Bibliographies
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A list of bibliographies related to research in Czech and Slovak studies.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A list of bibliographies related to research in Czech and Slovak studies.
Czech and Slovak Biographical Resources for Academics and Scholars
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
An annotated list of biographical dictionaries for professors and scholars from various institutions or disciplines.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
An annotated list of biographical dictionaries for professors and scholars from various institutions or disciplines.
Czech and Slovak History
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Guide to resources relating to Czech and Slovak History
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Guide to resources relating to Czech and Slovak History
Czech and Slovak Monographic Bibliography
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to Czech and Slovak monographic bibliography including Matice publications, Academy publications, and dissertations.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to Czech and Slovak monographic bibliography including Matice publications, Academy publications, and dissertations.
Czech and Slovak National Bibliographies
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Annotated bibliography of Czech and Slovak National Bibliographies with a short mention of dissertations.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Annotated bibliography of Czech and Slovak National Bibliographies with a short mention of dissertations.
Czech Republic and Slovakia Biographical Dictionaries
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A list of Czech Republic and Slovakia Biographical Dictionaries.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A list of Czech Republic and Slovakia Biographical Dictionaries.
Czech Republic and Slovakia Encyclopedias
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
An annotated bibliography of key Czech and Slovak encyclopedias as well as annotations of encyclopedias published in Czech or Slovak.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
An annotated bibliography of key Czech and Slovak encyclopedias as well as annotations of encyclopedias published in Czech or Slovak.
Dictionaries and Language Resources
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to world language dictionaries.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to world language dictionaries.
Dynamics of Cultural Globalization in Post-Soviet Space
- Last Updated Jun 13, 2012
An interdisciplinary workshop that investigates the social processes of cultural globalization. This guide is intended for participants in the June 2012 junior scholars workshop; Moderator Doug Blum, Prof. Political Science at Providence College.
- Last Updated Jun 13, 2012
An interdisciplinary workshop that investigates the social processes of cultural globalization. This guide is intended for participants in the June 2012 junior scholars workshop; Moderator Doug Blum, Prof. Political Science at Providence College.
Encyclopedias (Slavic and East European Studies)
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide serves as a gateway to various encyclopedias relevant for research in Slavic and East European studies.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide serves as a gateway to various encyclopedias relevant for research in Slavic and East European studies.
Encyclopedias as Biographical Resources
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide highlights how to use encyclopedias as biographical resources when researching Slavic and East European subjects. Also lists helpful encyclopedias as starting points.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide highlights how to use encyclopedias as biographical resources when researching Slavic and East European subjects. Also lists helpful encyclopedias as starting points.
Finding a Place in the Soviet Empire: Cultural Production and the Friendship of Nations
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Supporting materials for the Fisher Forum 2011 which will explore the problem of empire, subjectivity, and cultural production in the Soviet Union.
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Supporting materials for the Fisher Forum 2011 which will explore the problem of empire, subjectivity, and cultural production in the Soviet Union.
Finding English Language Sources for Social ScienceTopics - Russia, Eastern Europe and Eurasia
- Last Updated Oct 18, 2012
There are a multitude of resources that will lead a student to English language materials for the region but some are particularly valuable. This guide will help the student to find those at the UIUC library website, highlighting some of the best.
- Last Updated Oct 18, 2012
There are a multitude of resources that will lead a student to English language materials for the region but some are particularly valuable. This guide will help the student to find those at the UIUC library website, highlighting some of the best.
Fluid Future: Understanding the Black Sea as a Region
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A Guide for Eurasian Studies Training Workshop for Junior Scholars. Moderator: Prof. Charles King, Georgetown University.
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A Guide for Eurasian Studies Training Workshop for Junior Scholars. Moderator: Prof. Charles King, Georgetown University.
Fonts and Keyboards: digital Slavic materials
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide provides tips and resources for people looking to do multilanguage computing, type in Cyrillic using special characters and/or use special accent marks.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide provides tips and resources for people looking to do multilanguage computing, type in Cyrillic using special characters and/or use special accent marks.
Former Yugoslav Monographic Bibliographies
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide to former Yugoslav monographic bibliographies includes information on Matica Publications, Academy of Science Publications, dissertations and special monographic bibliographies.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide to former Yugoslav monographic bibliographies includes information on Matica Publications, Academy of Science Publications, dissertations and special monographic bibliographies.
Former Yugoslavia National Bibliography
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Online and print bibliographies for former Yugoslav countries including special monographic bibliographies and the Yugoslav Academy Publications.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Online and print bibliographies for former Yugoslav countries including special monographic bibliographies and the Yugoslav Academy Publications.
Gender & Democracy in Russia, Eurasia & Beyond : Research Strategies & Sources
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A Companion Guide to the UIUC REEEC Summer Research Lab workshop "Gendering Democracy: Self, State, and Political Reform in Eurasia and Beyond"
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A Companion Guide to the UIUC REEEC Summer Research Lab workshop "Gendering Democracy: Self, State, and Political Reform in Eurasia and Beyond"
General Bibliographies: Bibliography of Bibliographies
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This is a guide to General Bibliographies related to Slavic and East European Studies.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This is a guide to General Bibliographies related to Slavic and East European Studies.
General Bibliographies: Monographic Resources
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide serves as a description of the usefulness of bibliographies in advanced research in Slavic and East European Studies.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide serves as a description of the usefulness of bibliographies in advanced research in Slavic and East European Studies.
General Bibliography: National Bibliographies
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This page points to resources for national bibliographies of Slavic, East European, and former Soviet states.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This page points to resources for national bibliographies of Slavic, East European, and former Soviet states.
General Resources for Slavic Linguistics
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide with a variety of general resources for Slavic Linguistics.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide with a variety of general resources for Slavic Linguistics.
General Resources for the Arts
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
There are many general sources for the various genres of the arts that can be used successfully by researchers of Russia and Eastern Europe. These resources range from encyclopedias and specialized bibliographies to on-line databases to websites.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
There are many general sources for the various genres of the arts that can be used successfully by researchers of Russia and Eastern Europe. These resources range from encyclopedias and specialized bibliographies to on-line databases to websites.
Handbooks (General Resources for Slavic and East European Studies)
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
General Resources for Slavic and East European Studies
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
General Resources for Slavic and East European Studies
Library Catalogs for Slavic and East European Studies
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Guide to finding the print material needed for research in Slavic and East European Studies.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Guide to finding the print material needed for research in Slavic and East European Studies.
Multilingual Electronic Resources for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A guide to 13 databases with significant content in both English and the languages of the region
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
A guide to 13 databases with significant content in both English and the languages of the region
National Bibliography and Publishing in Afghanistan, 1871-2009
- Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
A guide to the history and bibliography of printed works in the languages of Afghanistan before, during and after the Soviet occupation of 1979-1989
- Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
A guide to the history and bibliography of printed works in the languages of Afghanistan before, during and after the Soviet occupation of 1979-1989
National Bibliography of Bulgaria
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Print and online national bibliography information for Bulgaria.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Print and online national bibliography information for Bulgaria.
National Bibliography of Croatia
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This is a guide to print and online resources of the National Bibliography of Croatia.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This is a guide to print and online resources of the National Bibliography of Croatia.
NWM History 513: Modern Russian History
- Last Updated Sep 16, 2011
This LibGuide is designed for students taking History 513. Instructor: Prof. Curtis Richardson, Northwest Missouri State University
- Last Updated Sep 16, 2011
This LibGuide is designed for students taking History 513. Instructor: Prof. Curtis Richardson, Northwest Missouri State University
Periodical Indices (General Resources for Slavic and East European Studies)
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A brief guide of periodical indices for Slavic and East European Studies)
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A brief guide of periodical indices for Slavic and East European Studies)
Periodicals Guide for Slavic and East European Studies
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide is an introduction to the use of periodicals in research and links to web-based guides available.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide is an introduction to the use of periodicals in research and links to web-based guides available.
Polish-Jewish Studies
- Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
The guide serves as an introduction to Polish-Jewish studies and draws on Polish and Jewish studies collections of the UIUC Library.
- Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
The guide serves as an introduction to Polish-Jewish studies and draws on Polish and Jewish studies collections of the UIUC Library.
Research Tools on Fedor Mikhailovich Dostoevskiĭ (1821-1881)
- Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
This guide is designed for Russian 522 students. Instructor: Prof. Harriet Murav
- Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
This guide is designed for Russian 522 students. Instructor: Prof. Harriet Murav
Resources for Church Slavic and Old Church Slavonic
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A list of bibliographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries, grammars, Cyril and Methodius studies resources, and subject websites relating to Church Slavic and Old Church Slavonic.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A list of bibliographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries, grammars, Cyril and Methodius studies resources, and subject websites relating to Church Slavic and Old Church Slavonic.
Resources for the Study of the Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian Languages
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Supplementary materials to support first year language program
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Supplementary materials to support first year language program
Resources for the Study of the Macedonian Language
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Supporting materials for students in their first year of studying Macedonian
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Supporting materials for students in their first year of studying Macedonian
Resources for the Study of the Romanian Language
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Resources for the students in their first year of study of the Romanian language
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Resources for the students in their first year of study of the Romanian language
Resources for the Study of the Ukrainian Language
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Supplementary materials for students in their first year of study of the Ukrainian language
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Supplementary materials for students in their first year of study of the Ukrainian language
Russia's Role in Human Mobility : Historical and Contemporary Perspectives
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Resources for the study of human mobility and migration in a Russian/Eurasian/global context
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Resources for the study of human mobility and migration in a Russian/Eurasian/global context
Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies: A General Guide to Resources
- Last Updated Oct 17, 2011
Guide to bibliographic resources, electronic and print focused on the region.
- Last Updated Oct 17, 2011
Guide to bibliographic resources, electronic and print focused on the region.
SCR 115: South Slavic Cultures
- Last Updated Oct 7, 2010
This LibGuide is designed for students taking SCR 115. Instructor: Dr. Judith Pintar
- Last Updated Oct 7, 2010
This LibGuide is designed for students taking SCR 115. Instructor: Dr. Judith Pintar
Search Tools for Slavic and East European Studies
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide covering key search engines and other search tools available for people interested in Slavic and East European Studies.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide covering key search engines and other search tools available for people interested in Slavic and East European Studies.
Shostakovich: The Quartets in Context
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
Resources on Shostakovich in Russian and English.
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
Resources on Shostakovich in Russian and English.
Slavic Archives
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
General introduction to archival resources and terminology
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
General introduction to archival resources and terminology
Slavic Biography
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide outlines how to get started researching Slavic biographical studies including general resources and sources for specific countries.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide outlines how to get started researching Slavic biographical studies including general resources and sources for specific countries.
Slavic Linguistics
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Gateway to several guides in Slavic and East European Linguistics.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Gateway to several guides in Slavic and East European Linguistics.
Soviet Deportation of Poles during World War II 1939-1945 by Urszula Biegaj
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Guide created by Urszula Biegaj for LIS 530C
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Guide created by Urszula Biegaj for LIS 530C