This is the "Introduction" page of the "How to Find Conference Proceedings" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Find Conference Proceedings   Tags: conference_proceedings, conferences, proceedings  

Find here information about what conference proceedings are, where proceedings are published, what library resources they can be found in, and what library resources and search strategies can be used to locate them.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/conf_proc Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Library Catalogs

Library Online Catalogs are used to locate and request books and other Library items. 'HOW TO' GUIDES

 

Literature Databases

Literature Databases are used to identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of periodicals.

 

Online Journals & Databases

The Online Journals and Databases tool provides access to most electronic information resources (e-journals, e-reference books, electronic indexes and abstracts) available from the Library. 

 

Easy Search

Easy Search is a search and discovery tool that allows you to search a variety of article, book, and Web sites simultaneously. There are a number of subject-specific categories you can limit your search to, including one for Arts & Humanities Articles, and more.  Selecting the Books category searches the Library Online Catalog, the I-Share catalog for state academic libraries, Google Books, Microsoft Live Books, and Amazon Books.  For more information see What is Easy Search?

 

Introduction

INTRODUCTION

Proceedings are the official records for professional meetings of organizations (e.g., societies, institutes, agencies, and foundations). Various types of professional gatherings such as conferences, workshops, symposia, expositions, colloquiums, and congresses may disseminate presented papers or abstracts of papers as published proceedings. Proceedings can be an important source of information, and many times the most current available on particular research or topics.

Proceedings may be published in many forms, including part of a journal issue, a special journal supplement, a technical report, a book, or part of a series. Some papers published in proceedings, or redeveloped papers from the original ones, may go on to be published in other monographs or serials.

Not all conferences and other types of meetings publish proceedings. And not all published proceedings are peer-reviewed.  And not all journals that are named Proceedings are conference proceedings (e.g., Mayo Clinic Proceedings and Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences).

The same evaluative methods must be used for proceedings as for any other source of information.

 

Types of Information Found in Proceedings

TYPES OF INFORMATION FOUND IN PROCEEDINGS

Presentation abstracts and/or papers

Reprinted articles

Literature surveys

Reviews

Surveys

Tutorials

Awards

Commentaries/opinion pieces

Errata

Author and subject indexes

Information for authors

List of contributors, reviewers, referees, conference or society staff

Information about sponsor members (e.g., career news, awards, obituaries)

Etc.!

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Melody Allison
Contact Info
Funk Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES) Library
200 ACES Library, Information, and Alumni Center (LIAC)
1101 South Goodwin Avenue
Urbana, IL 61801
Send Email

How to Find Proceedings Exercises with Answers

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip