This is the "Home" page of the "History of the Undergraduate Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Included are documents, images and publicity related to the History of the Undergraduate Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Last Updated: Feb 14, 2012 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/undergrad_history Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Undergraduate Library

On September 21, 1966 the groundbreaking of the current Undergraduate Library occurred, followed by its dedication three years later on November 15, 1969.  2010 marks 40 years of the Undergraduate Library.

construction

 

 

Location of the Undergraduate Library

Where is the Undergraduate Library?

The library is located underground at 1402 W.Gregory St., just east of the Main Library and just west of the Morrow Plots. Immediately south of Gregory is the South Quad. North of the library is Foellinger Hall. The sidewalk on the west side of the Main Quad will lead directly to the Undergrad.

View a campus map of the Undergraduate Library's location on campus.

 

Background

Welcome!

This libguide provides some snapshots of the History of the Undergraduate Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  Most of the content is available either at the University Archives [http://www.library.illinois.edu/archives/] or at the Student Life and Culture Archival Program [http://www.library.illinois.edu/archives/slc]  

1969 image      
                                 1970 View                           1998 View
 
Two entrances shown on either side of the deck.

                        

undergrad at night 2010

  Undergraduate Library at Night  February 2010

 

Library Service to Undergraduates

The Library's Undergraduate Library, with over 200,000 volumes, provides in one location more reference resources for undergraduate instruction than any other undergraduate college library in the United States. The Undergraduate Library is also known nationally for its array of award-winning programs designed to teach students to become sophisticated users of the latest information technologies. These courses are integrated into a student's regular classroom instruction so that virtually every student is assured of exposure to bibliographic instruction. Many of the Library's other departmental libraries also conduct bibliographic instruction programs tailored to the specific needs of individual courses.

The Undergraduate Library also offers other important services, including a formal term paper research counseling program; the Career Cluster collection, which includes help on interview and resume-writing skills; and the Writer's Workshop, which helps students develop their formal writing skills. As a further service to undergraduates, the Undergraduate Library and Grainger Engineering Library Information Center both have campus-supported multimedia computer laboratories, with more than 20 workstations each.

 


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Undergraduate Library
Contact Info
Undergraduate Library (217) 333-3477
Send Email
 

Suggestions and Feedback

Do you have any other Undergraduate Library History Information? 

If so Email Lori or leave a comment.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip