Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Latin American & Caribbean: Environment  Tags: spanish portuguese latin_america caribbean environment  

Last update: Jul 31st, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LAC_environment  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

LA&C Library Resources Homepage

LA&C Library Collections & Services Homepage

 

LA&C Articles

More Indexes & Databases

Best:

HAPI UIUC
Identifies article and review citations regarding Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. in subject areas including political science, history and the humanities.

Handbook of Latin American Studies WWW
An excellent multidisciplinary resource from the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.

Chicano Database UIUC
Identifies publications about Mexican-American and Latino topics. Provides selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.


Other:

Clase y Periodica WWW
A database of article citations from more than 2,500 Latin American and Caribbean scientific journals from from 1979 to the present.

Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) WWW
Tables of contents for hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences from Latin America.

LATINDEX WWW
Directory of 12,000 journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal in a range of disciplines.



How to find articles tutorial


 
 

UIUC Library Resources

 

LA&C Enviroment: E-Resources

General

Environmental History of Latin America

Environment and Natural Resources: USA.gov

Historia del petroleo en Mexico

Portada de la CEPAL

United Nations Enviromental Program

World Petroleum


Maps

Maps of the Americas

The Mapas Project has as its focus the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts. The term "mapa" was used loosely in New Spain to refer to pictorials that may or may not have had a cartographic dimension, but often showed the territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection


Amazon Rain Forest

The Amazon: The World's Largest Rainforest

Amazon Rainforest

Journey into Amazonia


 

Statistics

LA & C Statistical Information

 

Finding books by subject

Finding books on a topic is easy with subject searching. Use the Catalog Quick Search. In the Search For box, type a suggested subject headings and choose the Subject option. Subject searches use Library of Congress subject headings and thus are always in English. For related subject terms, scroll through the list of results.

Suggested Subject Headings:

General

Latin America -- Environmental Conditions

or

Environmental Conditions

Example: Chile -- Environmental Conditions


Rain Forest

Rain forest conservation

Rain forest ecology

Or

subject headings for specific locations of rainforests:

Rain forest -- Amazon River Region

 

Latin American & Caribbean Library Collections and Services

Profile ImagePaula Carns, interim librarian
Contact Info:
pcarns@illinois.edu
425 Main Library
1408 W Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL
Tel: (217) 244-0483
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Hours M-F 9-5
Send Email

 

Country Studies

US Dept. of State's Bureau of Western Affairs
CIA's World Factbook
The Economist Intelligence Unit (UIUC)
Library of Congress' Country Studies
(Not all countries included)
Library of Congress' Portals to the World
Wikipedia
Beware: Not all in Wikipedia is correct!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait