National Archival Portals
- Arhiv Federacije BiH
Ministry of archives for Bosnia Herzegovina - Bulgarian Archival Portal
Clickable map of Bulgarian archives. Each link provides contact information for the archives of the region. - HRVATSKI DRŽAVNI ARHIV
Links to information pages on the regional archives of Croatia. Basic descriptions and contact information are included. - Државен архив на Република Македонија - До
Macedonian State Archives website. - Arhivele Nationale ale Romaniei
Main page of the Romanian National Archives with information on the collection. No searchable catalog but extensive lists of holdings. The site is still under construction. Contact information is under "Organizare" - Arhivska mreža
Serbian archival portal with links and contact information, extensive information on archival history and full text of many archival documents. - Arhiv Srbije i Crne Gore
Archives of Serbia and Montenegro. - Arhiv Republike Slovenije
Archives of the Republic of Slovenia. Links and bibliography of guides for the archives of the country.
The Resources
The first stop in looking for archival information is to check a guide to the archives for your particular region. Directories
The directories listed here index points of entry for archives all over the world. The wealth of online material can save a great deal of time when planning a research trip that will include visits to regional archives. Most of the sites that are listed in these directories have, at the very least, citations to published archival guides. Many have online finding aids. Two of the most important general directories for archives are:
UNESCO Archive Portal.
http://www.unesco.org/cgi-bin/webworld/portal_archives/cgi/page.cgi?d=1
and
Repository of Primary Sources
http://www.uidaho.edu/special-collections/Other.Repositories.html
Both of these sites have links to archives all over the world. Both have access primarily through a geographic index. The UNESCO portal has additional materials that can be helpful if you are seeking government regulations regarding archives.
While both of these sites have numerous links to regional archives they are not comprehensive. When looking for regional archives it is often useful to start at the national archival site for a particular country. Most have a page of links for regional archives, some drop-down lists. Links to many of the national archival sites for the area are listed at left.
Subject Guide |
Slavic Reference Service![]() |
Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait