Breadth and depth
ISI contains an amazing breadth and depth of full-text business and political information, broadly defined, although chronological coverage is heavily skewed toward the very recent past. Items can be found dating back to the mid-1990s, but the vast majority of material dates from more recent years. ISI is drawing from online resources and these have proliferated in recent years for our area.
- Current, full-text, vernacular-language coverage of 70+ countries, including all of Eastern Europe and (almost all of) the former Soviet Union
- "Unique content," including full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, market-specific information, as well as proprietary research, analysis, and statistics
- Content aggregated from from 2,150+ data providers, representing 13,000+ local & regional information sources
- Updated daily
Although materials relating to larger geographical regions can be searched and reviewed, ISI is primarily organized on a country-by-country basis, with a wide range of search options and types of materials accessible within each country.
Among many other options here, users can select "Latest News/NewsWatch" from the "News" portion of the menu bar, which retrieves links to a huge amount of same-day information on a variety of topics.
Information for Eastern European countries is provided in both English and the major languages of the country in question in most cases.
Overwhelmed?
The amount of information available via ISI can be overwhelming. ISI's own User Guide, available in the menu bar at the upper right of the screen (see below), can help users navigate the database more effectively.

The User Guide's table of contents is reproduced below to provide a more complete sense of how ISI is organized.

ISI Feeds - English
ISI has generalized news feeds from the countries it covers. Below is the English language feed for Bosnia-Herzegovina. [Please Note: while you will be able to see the headlines after you have left Illinois you will not be able to click on the titles and view the remainder of the article. This is due to license restrictions. If you need follow up information on a particular news item, please contact the Slavic Reference Service!]
Bosnia-Herzegovina NewsWatch

Loading RSS Feed...
ISI Feeds - Vernacular Language
Below is an example of one of the vernacular language or local feeds.
[Please Note: while you will be able to see the headlines after you have left Illinois you will not be able to click on the titles and view the remainder of the article. This is due to license restrictions. If you need follow up information on a particular news item, please contact the Slavic Reference Service!]
Serbia NewsWatch

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait