EBSCO databases
EBSCO is the name of a database vendor that provides a large number of services. Which are available to you depends on your institution and its preferences. At UIUC we have numerous sources that include:
- Academic Search Premier
- Newspaper Source
- ABSEES
- MLA
- Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts
- SocIndex
- Womens Studies International
- International Bibliography of Theater and Dance
- Index Islamicus
- Historical Abstracts
Using the EBSCO search interface it is possible to select a few of these sources, Womens' Studies International and Index Islamicus for example and search for resources in various disciplines. These searches can be a little tricky but usually yield not only interesting sources but also extensive information on searching techniques. Related subject headings are usually displayed for further refinement of the search.
Web of Science
Web of Science contains some of the best known databases in particular the Arts and Humanities Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Indes. While both of these have citations going back to the 1970s in a all disciplines their coverage of the languages and periodicals for southeaster Europe is spotty at best. For example, if you limit an "Expert" search in Web of Science to just these two databases and then search for publications by country and language it will quickly become apparent that few foreign language materials are available. Thus, such a search for Serbia and Serbian returned only 27 results, all citations to the same journal. Such a search for Bulgarian and Bulgarian returned no results. However, if these searches were broadened to include the sciences the result were better.
Web of Science is therefore very useful for Western publications and for Russian but less valuable for most of the rest of our region.
Interdisciplinary databases
The list of interdisciplinary databases is growing constantly. Indeed, database vendors seem to be generally moving to the all-encompassing resource. When using these services, scholars often tend to work with one particular database and this is often the best strategy. However, if you are working with a multi-disciplinary topic it can be very helpful to search several databases at once. Often this will produce items that are related to your topic in an unusual way. This is often the case with the medical databases where one can find articles on Tolstoy and other writers not in terms of literary criticism but in terms of their social impact.
Another advantage of this type of search in these megadatabase structures is that you will often be provided with numerous subject headings that may not have occurred to you. Web of Science, CSA and others will often return a list of subject terms to further "refine" your search. These have the added benefit of helping you direct future searches using those terms you found especially important for your topic.
The one thing that can be a bit tricky with this type of search is that different databases allow for different types of searches. So for example, if you choose two different databases in EBSCO, Index Islamicus and Academic Search Premier in this case, you will find that there may be special limiters listed for each database.

Still such a search will give you a good idea what you can and expect to find on a multidisciplinary topic and which databases will provide the richest results.
CSA indexes
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts is another of the large database vendors with a number of useful multidisciplinary products. I am including a few that are relevant for the social sciences and/or humanities. The language coverage is better in some than others. So, while you may find quite comprehensive coverage in the psychology databases for the region, Communications Abstracts still limits itself largely to English language publications.
Some of the most useful databases:
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
World Wide Political Science Abstracts
It is possible to search all or a selected few of these databases at one time. The results can be saved, exported to bibliographic software or transmitted as an RSS feed.
First Search Databases
Most scholars are familiar with FirstSearch or at least with some of its resources. Probably the most widelyknown is WorldCat. FirstSearch, like many other interfaces offers the scholar the possibility of searching many databases at once. What is available to you will depend upon your institution and what they have selected as best for their population.
Using the FirstSearch interface it is possible to send your results to a bibliographic program such as EndNote or RefWorks that will allow you to format your data and readily create a bibliography for later use. It is also possible to save the search and run it a later date, one form of the "Current Awareness" feature so popular with scholars.
Here at UIUC we have the following resources that may be of interest to you via FirstSearch:
| Name | Scope | Dates | Languages | Notes |
| ArticleFirst | All subject areas | 1990- | Some foreign language material | There is no specific search for these materials in Article Firs |
| Bibliography of the History of Art | Art history and all related areas | Foreign languages well represented | This is a very interesting resource for the region and has a variety of sources on art exhibitions at various times in the past. | |
| Avery Index | Architecture and urban planning | 1741- | All | The indexing on some of the journals for the Slavic region goes back many years and makes this a very valuable resource for those studying urban planning, culture, architecture and related subjects. |
| Ebooks | All subject areas | 2008- | All | Records for ebooks are contributed here by libraries that contribute their holdings information to WorldCat. |
| Francis | Multi-lingual, multi-disciplinary articles | 1984- | All | 4300 journals and over 2 million records. No specific language searches available |
| PeriodicalAbstracts | Multi-disciplinary | 1987- | English | Full text of many resources |
| WilsonSelectPlus | Multi-disciplinary | 1994- | English | Full text of many resources |
| WorldCat | Multi-disciplinary |
Subject Guide |
Slavic Reference Service![]() |
Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait