Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Building Balkan Studies: Multidisciplinary Resources  Tags: slavic  

A guide to the many multidisciplinary resources for Balkan Studies.
Last update: Sep 09th, 2008 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/BalkanStudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

CEEOL - Full Text             Print Page
  
 

Use of Diacritics

As with some other Eastern European databases and catalogs, failure to use diacritics in CEEOL can have a major effect on search results. For example, a search for the term "székely" (a Hungarian ethno-historical group) in article titles/abstracts yields sixteen

results, while a search for "szekely" (without the diacritical mark over the first "e") yields only two (entirely different) results.

For assistance with enabling and using diacritics on your computer, see the Slavic Reference Service's "Fonts & Keyboards" webpage.

 
 

Central and Eastern European Online Library

"CEEOL is an online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from 318 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics."

"The project's primary concern is to make documents available to a public which can currently only gain limited access when using traditional channels or who have been previously unaware of the existence of these documents."

As of June 3rd, 2008, CEEOL contained 62,696 full-text articles. CEEOL is continually adding more journal titles. The full text of all of CEEOL's articles is searchable via Scholar Google. Users must return to CEEOL's full-text search screen for each additional search; otherwise, subsequent searches will take place in all of Google Scholar.

Lists of periodicals whose full text is included in CEEOL can be viewed on a country-by-country basis by clicking on "PERIODICALS" option in the menu.  "Show details" to the right of each journal title leads immediately to more information about the journal and then to issue-by-issue links to all available articles from that journal.

CEEOL offers a number of other features, including country-by-country lists of authors as well as a substantial (if somewhat dated) webliography on a number of aspects of Eastern Europe in its searchable "LINKS" pages.

While CEEOL's various search options do not function as well as they might, the extensive full-text access it provides will be of considerable value to scholars of Eastern Europe.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSlavic Reference Service


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait