Introduction
The type of paper you are writing will help you determine what type of database you'll use to find articles about prairies. Does your instructor require scholarly journals or magazine articles as sources? Many magazines have articles about prairies that may serve as valuable resources. Start your search in the General Databases or with some of the specific databases here. However, if your instructor prefers that you use scholarly, research-oriented journals, you may need to search Specialized Databases.
Prairie Databases
- Illinois Plant Information Network (ILPIN)
Provides information about all vascular plant taxa found in Illinois. Search on a plant species (by scientific or common name), and retrieve information compiled on the species, as well as a map of its known distribution among the counties in Illinois. - Ladybird Johnson Wildflower Center Native Plant Database
Includes several databases of interest: the Native Plants Database; Image Gallery; Clearinghouse Publications; Propagation Data Sheets and Regional Fact Packs; and Nurseries and Seed Suppliers. - North American Pollen Database
Surface sample raw counts, organized by state/province, are available. Use WebMapper or their search engine to locate files. More than 2,000 sites have been studied and are potentially available for inclusion in the NAPD. - PrairieMap
This GIS Database for Prairie Grassland Habitats and associated Native Wildlife in the North American Mid-West helps users identify and collect spatial data layers needed for research and management of prairie grassland ecosystems. - USDA Plants Database
Maintained by The National Plant Data Center (NPDC) whose responsibility is to acquire, develop, improve, and disseminate plant information in support of the National Resources Conservation Service and other efforts to improve ecological land health.
Contact Us |
Illinois Natural History Survey LibraryContact Info:
1816 S. Oak St.
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 333-6892
Fax: (217) 333-4949
Send Email
Subjects:
Botany, Entomology, Herpetology, Ichthyology, Mammalogy, Ornithology, Zoology, Aquatic ecology, Habitat ecology, Wildlife ecology, Natural resource management, Invasive species, Integrated pest management, Fisheries, Ecological restoration
1816 S. Oak St.
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 333-6892
Fax: (217) 333-4949
Send Email
Subjects:
Botany, Entomology, Herpetology, Ichthyology, Mammalogy, Ornithology, Zoology, Aquatic ecology, Habitat ecology, Wildlife ecology, Natural resource management, Invasive species, Integrated pest management, Fisheries, Ecological restoration
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait