GeneralSpecialized
Educational Sites for TeachersGeneral Prairie Links
BooksJournals
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Prairies Research Guide 

An annotated guide to prairie resources
Last update: Sep 03rd, 2008 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/prairieresearchguide  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General             Print Page
  
 

Database Searching Tips

 

For a detailed guide on constructing database searches, check out Tips for Searching Databases offered by the Biology Library.

 

General Databases

In order to find articles, use the Online Research Resources or try one of the databases suggested below.

InfoTrac (Expanded Academic Index) (1980-present)

This database indexes articles from magazines and journals in many academic disciplines. It includes both scholarly and research-oriented articles. Many of the articles are in full text.

sample searches:

  • endangered species and illinois finds articles about endangered species in the state of Illinois
  • endangered species and causes finds articles about causes leading to endangerment of species
  • endangered species and plants find articles about endangered species of plants

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite (1985- )

Provides full text access to articles from over 1500 periodicals. More general in its scope than the specialized databases in the next section.

sample searches:

  • endangered species and wildlife conservation finds articles about the relationship between wildlife conservation and endangered species
  • endangered species and causes finds articles about causes related to endangered species
  • endangered species and fish finds articles on endangered species of fish


 

Contact Us

Profile ImageIllinois Natural History Survey Library
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait