Books
Click on the links below to view the University of Illinois catalog holdings for each title.
- Elemental Prairie: Sixty Tallgrass Plants - Watercolors by George Olson; essay by John Madson
- Field Guide to Indiana Wildflowers - Kay Yatskievych
- Field Guide to the North American Prairie - Stephen R. Jones and Ruth Carol Cushman
- Gardening with Prairie Plants : How to Create Beautiful Native Landscapes - Sally Wasowski; photography by Andy Wasowski
- Illinois Prairie Wildflowers - Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Division of Education
- Life and Lore of Illinois Wildflowers - William E. Werner, Jr. ; photographs by William E. Werner, Jr. ; drawings by Sharron Davis Schumann
- Managing Changing Prairie Landscapes - Editors, Todd A. Radenbaugh and Glenn C. Sutter
- National Grasslands: A Guide to American's Undiscovered Treasures - Francis Moul; photgraphy by Georg Joutras
- Prairie Establishment and Landscaping - William E. McClaine; illustrations by Arloa Wheeler and Ann Mankowski
- Prairie Garden: 70 Native Plants You Can Grow in Town or Country - J. Robert Smith, with Beatrice S. Smith
- Prairie Plants of the Midwest: Identification and Ecology - Russell R. Kirt ; illustrations by Henrietta H. Tweedie and Roberta L. Simonds
- Prairie Plants of Northern Illinois: Identification and Ecology - Russell R. Kirt ; illustrations by Henrietta H. Tweedie and Roberta L. Simonds
- Restoring the Tallgrass Prairie: An Illustrated Manual for Iowa and the Upper Midwest - Shirley Shirley
- Roadside Plants and Flowers: a Traveler's Guide to the Midwest and Great Lakes Area: With a Few Familiar Off-road Wildflowers - Marian S. Edsall
- Spring Woodland Wildflowers of Illinois - Robert H. Mohlenbrock
- Tallgrass Prairie Wildflowers: A Falcon Field Guide - Doug Ladd; photos by Frank Oberle and others
- Tallgrass Restoration Handbook: For Prairies, Savannas, and Woodlands - Editors, Stephen Packard and Cornelia F. Mutel; foreword by William R. Jordan III; with a new preface by the editors
- Wildflowers of Fields, Roadsides and Open Habitats of Illinois - Robert H. Mohlenbrock
- Wildflowers of Illinois Woodlands - Sylvan T. Runkel and Alvin F. Bull
- Wildflowers of the Tallgrass Prairie: The Upper Midwest - Sylvan T. Runkel and Dean M. Roosa; with a foreword by John Madson
Journals
- American Midland Naturalist
One of the most frequently cited journals among publications on ecology, mammalogy, herpetology, ornithology, ichthyology, parasitology, aquatic and invertebrate biology and other biological disciplines. - Biological Conservation
Provides a wide dissemination of original papers dealing with the preservation of wildlife and the conservation biological and allied natural resources. Focuses on plants, animals and their habitats in a changing and increasingly man-dominated biosphere. - Conservation Biology
This journal includes groundbreaking papers instrumental in defining the key issues contributing to the study and preservation of species and habitats. - Ecological Restoration
Owned by the University of Wisconsin Arboretum and edited by personnel of the Arboretum who are also members of Society for Ecological Restoration. Published quarterly and covers a broad range of topics, including progress reports on current restoration projects, topical and regional reviews of restoration activities, philosophical discourses on environmental ethics, descriptions of new restoration techniques, reviews of conferences and books, op-ed pieces, and letters from readers. A few of the more technical articles are peer-reviewed. Otherwise, manuscripts are meticulously reviewed by Ecological Restoration's editor Dave Egan, for a crisp and literate journalistic style. - Ecology
Publishes research and synthesis papers on all aspects of ecology, with particular emphasis on papers that develop new concepts in ecology, that test ecological theory, or that lead to an increased appreciation for the diversity of ecological phenomena. - Erigenia: Journal of the Illinois Native Plant Society
Dedicated to the preservation, conservation, and study of the native plants and vegetation of Illinois. - Illinois Nature Preserves Commission Report
Authored by the Illinois Nature Preserves Commission. Includes information about prairies, natural areas, and parks in Illinois. - Journal of Applied Ecology
Official journal of the British Ecological Society provides articles on ecology with management relevance. - Journal of Range Management
Serves as a forum for the presentation and discussion of facts, ideas, and philosophies pertaining to the study, management, and use of rangelands and their several resources. - Landscape Ecology
Includes new and innovative papers that improve our understanding of the relationship between patterns and processes, explaining the spatial variation in landscapes at multiple scales as affected by natural causes and human society. - Native Plants Journal
A cooperative effort of the USDA Forest Service and the University of Idaho, with assistance from the USDA Agricultural Research Service and the Natural Resources Conservation Service. Goal is to provide technical and practical information on the growing and planting of North American (Canada, US, and Mexico) native plants for restoration, conservation, reforestation, landscaping, roadsides, and so on. - Natural Areas Journal
Provides a forum for communication involving the identification, preservation, protection and management of natural areas and elements of natural diversity. - Plant Ecology (formerly Vegetatio)
Publishes original scientific papers dealing with the ecology of vascular plants and bryophytes in terrestrial, aquatic and wetland ecosystems. Papers reporting on descriptive, historical, and experimental studies of any aspect of plant population, physiological, community, ecosystem and landscape ecology as well as on theoretical ecology. - Prairie Naturalist
Quarterly Journal of Research on the Natural History of the North American Great Plains. - A Prairie Rendezvous
Bimonthly journal published by the Grand Prairie Friends of Illinois and Prairie Grove Volunteers. - Proceedings of the Central Illinois Prairie Conference
Presentations include an array of topics covering tallgrass prairie ecology, flora, fauna, restoration, stewardship, and education. - Proceedings of the Midwest Prairie Conference
Presentations include an array of topics covering ecological studies, restoration management and history, politics and education as it relates to prairies. - Proceedings of the North American Prairie Conference
Presentations are geared toward those interested in native gardening, prairie restoration, and prairie management. - Restoration Ecology: The Journal of the Society for Ecological Restoration
Fosters the exchange of ideas among the many disciplines involved in the process of ecological restoration. Addresses global concerns and communicates them to the international scientific community. At the forefront of a vital new direction in science and ecology. Original papers describe experimental, observational, and theoretical studies on terrestrial, marine, and freshwater systems, and are considered without taxonomic bias. Primary emphasis is on ecological and biological restoration, and also publishes papers on soils, water, air, and hydrologic functions. Edited by a distinguished panel, the journal continues to be a major conduit for research scientists to publish their findings in the fight to not only halt ecological damage, but also to ultimately reverse it. - Transactions of the Illinois State Academy of Science
Includes publications on anthropology, archaeology, botany, cellular, molecular and developmental science, environmental science, and zoology.
Contact Us |
Illinois Natural History Survey LibraryContact Info:
1816 S. Oak St.
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 333-6892
Fax: (217) 333-4949
Send Email
Subjects:
Botany, Entomology, Herpetology, Ichthyology, Mammalogy, Ornithology, Zoology, Aquatic ecology, Habitat ecology, Wildlife ecology, Natural resource management, Invasive species, Integrated pest management, Fisheries, Ecological restoration
1816 S. Oak St.
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 333-6892
Fax: (217) 333-4949
Send Email
Subjects:
Botany, Entomology, Herpetology, Ichthyology, Mammalogy, Ornithology, Zoology, Aquatic ecology, Habitat ecology, Wildlife ecology, Natural resource management, Invasive species, Integrated pest management, Fisheries, Ecological restoration
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait