GeneralSpecialized
Educational Sites for TeachersGeneral Prairie Links
BooksJournals
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Prairies Research Guide 

An annotated guide to prairie resources
Last update: Sep 03rd, 2008 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/prairieresearchguide  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General Prairie Links             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

Here you'll find some great web resources with information ranging from general prairie knowledge to prairie history and current prairie research projects. A great place to start any research.

Web Resources

  • Chicago Wilderness Consortium  
      
    Alliance of more than 160 public and private organizations who work together to protect, restore, study, and manage the precious natural ecosystems of the Chicago region for the benefit of the public.
  • Iowa Prairie Network  
      
    An all volunteer network of people dedicated to the preservation of the prairie heritage in the state of Iowa.
  • MBGNet - What's It LIke Where You Live?  
      
    Information about different biomes of the world, including grasslands. Learn about types of grasslands, grassland plants, grassland animals, and more grassland links.
  • Midwest Region Refuge System - The Tallgrass Prairie Challenge  
      
    This Fish and Wildlife Service site highlights the critical elements for protecting what remains of the tallgrass prairie.
  • Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center (NPWRC)  
      
    This site is operated by the U.S. Geological Survey. Excellent searchable database of publications written by NPWRC personnel, including plant and wildlife topics and a biological resource finder.
  • Prairie Establishment and Landscaping  
      
    This prairie resource by William E. McClain of the Division of Natural Heritage with the Illinois Department of Natural Resources includes information ranging from the origins of the prairie to using prairie plants in landscape design.
  • Prairie Frontier: Wildflower & Prairie Grass Seed  
      
    By planting wildflowers and/or prairie grasses you will be preserving our natural heritage and will bring the best of nature into your lifestyle.
  • Prairie in Illinois  
      
    Prairie in Illinois provides information about prairie ecosystems, prairie restoration, and planting a prairie garden. Resources and activities ar
  • Prairie Nursery - How to Establish a Prairie  
      
    This 'How To' guide provides detailed instructions for successful prairie plantings and wildflower gardening. The guide is provided by Prairie Nursery, a Wisconsin company specializing in native plants and seeds.
  • Prairies Forever  
      
    Nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the ecological and cultural significance of the American prairie through education, outreach, and public engagement.
  • Prairies in the Prairie State - Midewin National Tallgrass Prairie  
      
    An online guide to learning about prairies' physical environment, plants and animals, and human interactions. Also provides activities and resources.
  • The Tallgrass Prairie in Illinois  
      
    Produced by Illinois Natural History Survey (INHS) prairie expert Dr. Ken Robertson, this web site is an excellent starting point for prairie research, with information on prairie history, restoration, landscaping, and biodiversity.
  • The Tallgrass Prairie in Illinois - Links to Prairie Web Sites  
      
    This page includes a list of prairie web sites compiled by Dr. Ken Robertson of the Illinois Natural History Survey. The compilation includes over 60 web sites.
 

Contact Us

Profile ImageIllinois Natural History Survey Library
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait