Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Arab-Israeli Conflict
Camp David Accords
Camp David Summit
Hamas
Israel (Israelis)
Israeli Settlements
Negotiation
Palestine (Palestinians)
Oslo Accords
Six day war
Two state solution
West Bank
The Undergraduate Library suggests that users try out several searches, using different combinations of search terms (or keywords). For example, combine the search term, "Arab-Israeli Conflict," with any of the search terms above, depending on which aspects you would like to research."
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- World Wide Political Science Abstracts (CSA) —Articles on political science, public administration, policy and political economy
- PAIS – Public Affairs Information Service (CSA)– Contains articles on political, social and public policy issues.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCO) --Identifies sources in international newspapers, newswires as well as television and radio transcripts.
- New York Times Historical (Proquest)—Coverage from 1895-1998.
- New York Times (Academic Onefile/Infotrac)—Coverage from 1995-present.
- GPO Monthly Catalog (First Search)—Provides government publications from a variety of different government organizations, committees and subcommittees.
- Historical Abstracts (ABC-Clio)—Scholarly articles on the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450-present.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate Library![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait