Guides to Reference Materials and Research
- Music reference and research materials : an annotated bibliography - Duckles, Vincent H.
Call Number: ML113 D83M81997 (Reference and Ready Reference) - Sourcebook for research in music - Crabtree, Phillip.
Call Number: ML113 C72S62005 (Reference; this semester on Reserve) - Music Research: A Handbook - Sampsel, Laurie
Call Number: ML113 S28M8 (Reference)
Not only a guide to reference sources, but an excellent guide to conducting music research. - Introduction to research in music - Wingell, Richard J. and Silvia Herzog
Call Number: Reference and Stacks MT1 W56I5 - Craft of Research, 2nd ed. - Booth, Colomb, and Williams
Call Number: Reserves and Stacks Q180.55.M4 B662003
Dictionaries
There are myriad music dictionaries and encyclopedias. Depending on what topic you are researching you may need a very specialized one or a more general one. A few of the best general ones are listed below.
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (print and online)
Call Number: ML100 G76N38 2001 (Ready Reference)
The online version is available through Oxford Music Online as Grove Music Online. Grove Music Online includes Grove Jazz and Grove Opera. - Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart: Allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik (MGG), 2nd ed. - Friedrich Blume
Call Number: ML100 M87 (Reference)
Sachteil for things, Personenteil for people. - Harvard Dictionary of Music (online via this link) - Ed. Don Michael Randel
Call Number: ML100 A63H27 1986 (Ready Reference)
Biographical Information
In addition to the biographical dictionaries listed below, there are also book-length biographical tools called biobibliographies. A biobibliography is a
bibliography devoted to one composer. They list books, journal articles, and
other information about a composer. Sometimes these books are called "guides to research." They are typically located in the ML134s in the Reference collection.
- Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians - ed. Nicholas Slonimsky
Call Number: ML105 B16 B5 1992 (Ready Reference) - The Harvard biographical dictionary of music
Call Number: ML105 H27 (Reference)
Histories
- The Oxford history of western music - Taruskin, Richard.
Call Number: ML160 T37, 6 vols (Reference and Stacks)
Don't let the names of these two sets confuse you, they are different, and the "New" title is older than the other. - New Oxford history of music.
Call Number: ML160 N39, 10 vols (Reference)
v. 1. Ancient and oriental music -- v. 2. Early medieval music up to 1300 -- v. 3. Ars Nova and the Renaissance, 1300-1540 -- v. 4. The Age of Humanism, 1540-1630 -- v. 5. Opera and church music, 1630-1750 --v. 6. Concert music, 1630-1750 -- v. 7. The Age of Enlightenment, 1745-1790 -- v. 8. The Age of Beethoven, 1790-1830 -- v. 9. Romanicism, 1830-1890 --v. 10. The modern age, 1890-1960.
Subject Guide |
Kirstin DouganContact Info:
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait