Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Medicare  Tags: medicare health_care ugl_subject_guide ugl  

An Undergraduate Library Subject Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic Medicare.
Last update: Jun 23rd, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/medicare  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Background Sources

There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
 
 

Suggested reference sources

  • CQ Researcher - 327 G511 - Online access, print copy in Undergraduate periodicals. Provides topic overviews, background, current relevance and issues, bibliography for further research.
  • Encyclopedia of Public Health – Q.362.103 En18 – Provides a brief summary of the Medicare program including who is covered under Medicare, proposed reforms to the program, emergency care, and administration of the program. Contains bibliography.
  • Health care policy and politics A to Z – 362.10973 R769h—Provides the history of Medicare, benefits associated with the plan, the financial difficulties of the plan as well as an explanation of Medicare+Choice. Also has a side bar which details the Medicare beneficiary amounts as of 1999.
  • Health Care in the United States: the facts and the choices – 362.10973 Ay24h –Examines the cost and expenditures of Medicare. Notes are included at the end of the chapter with suggestions for further reading.
  • Social Issues in America - Q. 361.97303 So1323 – Volume 4 has an entry on Healthcare reform, which includes a discussion of Medicare. Provides a glossary at the end of the entry of commonly used healthcare terms and acronyms. Includes a bibliography as well as suggested websites.
  • International Encyclopedia of Social Policy – 361.6103In85 – Brief entry on Medicare in volume 2, breaks the program down into three parts, hospital insurance, supplementary medical insurance and Medicare+Choice program. Contains a bibliography.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageUndergraduate Library
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait