Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Older people
Medicare
Health insurance
Prescription drug coverage
Cost of medical care
Medical policy
The Undergraduate Library suggests that users try out several searches, using different combinations of search terms (or keywords).
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Medline Plus (National Library of Medicine) – Consumer health information on a variety of topics, has a plethora of information about Medicare, which is broken down into specific categories, such as prescription drug, cancer, hospital insurance ect.
- PubMed (National Library of Medicine)–Contains articles from a health policy perspective concerning Medicare.
- Health Source (EBSCO)– Searching in “Health Source – Consumer Edition” yields a variety of articles regarding Medicare.
- CINAHL (EBSCO)- (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) – Contains a variety of articles regarding medical costs and Medicare.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait