Background Sources
There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
Suggested reference sources
- CQ Researcher Online access, print copy in Undergraduate periodicals. Provides topic overviews, background, current relevance and issues, bibliography for further research.
- Encyclopedia of Women and Gender – Q.305.403 En19 – Provides an in-depth definition of rape and a multi-page entry about rape, including a discussion of prevalence, vulnerability and risk, physical and psychological impacts, preventative interventions and treatment interventions. Contains a list of suggested readings.
- Encyclopedia of Rape – 362.88303 En196 – Addresses rape and its surrounding factors, includes a timeline of rape related events and a listing of issues, subdivided by topic, covered in the book. Each entry has a bibliographic. Encyclopedia also includes a Resource Guide which includes further readings, websites and organizations.
- Encyclopedia of Sex – 306.703 En192 – Brief entry on rape, focuses on rape law.
- Handbook of American Women’s History – Q.305.40973 H191 2000- Discusses how rape became an important issue in the feminist movement in the 1970s. Also discusses rape-trauma syndrome and Posttraumatic Stress Disorder. Contains a list of suggested readings.
- Social Issues in America – 361.97303 So1323 v.6 – Multiple page entry on rape, which examines the how rape has been treated throughout history. Includes statistics and has an extensive bibliography.
- Women in the Third World – Q.305.42091724 W84221 – Examines rape as a human rights issues, an issue of violence against women, and an issue for refugee and displaced women. Each section contains a list of references.
- Violent Relationships: Battering and Abuse Among Adults – 362.8292 V15 2001- Chapter 5 address the issue of rape. Examines various kinds of rape , the different way rape is treated in different countries and statistics regarding rape and sexual harassment.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait