Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
The Undergraduate Library suggests that users try out several searches, using different combinations of search terms (or keywords). For example, combine the search term, "xxxx," with any of the following search terms, depending on which aspects of xxxx you would like to research." Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Acquaintance rape
Date rape
Gang rape
Rape AND law
Rape in marriage
Rape -- prevention
Rape trauma syndrome
War rape
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- America History and Life (ABC-Clio) - Contains articles on rape in early America and articles which discuss rape and slavery. Database searches scholarly journals on American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present.
- JSTOR – A history database which contains a variety of articles on rape, some discussing rape in the modern day and others which look at rape during the classical and medieval period.
- Access World News (News Bank) - Good for investigating newspaper reports of rape both in the United States and abroad. Access World News is a comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers providing coverage of domestic and international news sources of recent years.
- PsycINFO (CSA) – Psychological database, good for articles about the psychological effects of rape. Indexes scholarly Psychology journals and other publications.
- Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale) - Information about women's issues in many disciplines including political science, psychology, and reproductive rights. Can limit search to specific subject areas such as “violence” or “sexual harassment”.
- SocINDEX (EBSCO) – Sociological database, which has articles in all areas of sociology including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, and urban studies.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate Library![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait