Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
The Undergraduate Library suggests that users try out several searches, using different combinations of search terms (or keywords). For example, combine the search term, "xxxx," with any of the following search terms, depending on which aspects of xxxx you would like to research." Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
HPV AND vaccine
HPV
Cervical cancer
Papillomarvirus AND vaccine
Merck and Co. Inc.
HPV AND vaccine AND debate
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Access World News (News Bank) – Newspaper database that provides full text newspaper articles from the United States and abroad. Good source for finding recent newspaper articles regarding the HPV vaccine debate.
- Biological Abstracts (ISI) – Database which focuses on biology and biomedical sciences. Good for finding articles about the science behind HPV and the HPV vaccine.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) – Business management and finance articles. Good for examining the financial aspect of the HPV vaccine.
- Health Source (EBSCO) - To search for consumer health literature including scholarly journals, general health care magazines, reference books, and pamphlets select "Consumer Edition". For refereed materials choose the "Nursing/Academic Edition."
- MEDLINE Plus (National Library of Medicine) - Identifies consumer information about health-related topics.
- PubMed (National Library of Medicine) - Identifies articles in basic and clinical biomedical research as well as in psychology other allied health fields.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate Library![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait