This is the "Home" page of the "SCR 115: South Slavic Cultures" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SCR 115: South Slavic Cultures  

This LibGuide is designed for students taking SCR 115. Instructor: Dr. Judith Pintar
Last Updated: Oct 7, 2010 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/SCR115_south_slavic_cultures Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ivo Andric

Literature Resource Center: Identifies biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Coverage of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.  You can find Literature Resource Center and other electronic databases by visitng the Online Research Resources Page.  


 

Whose is this song?

United Nations Association Film Festival:

Adela Peeva is a Bulgarian filmmaker, born in Razgrad. She graduated from the Academy for Theater, Cinema, Radio, and Television in Belgrade in 1970, with a degree in film directing. Peeva has made more than 50 documentaries and one feature film, which has been released in the USA, Germany, Hungary, Russia, Austria, Poland, and France. In 1992 she established her own company, Adela Media Film & TV Productions Ltd. She has received many Bulgarian and International Awards as both director and producer. Her films have screened at film festivals around the world, including Oberhausen, Leipzig, Selb, PRIX EUROPE — Berlin, Bilbao, Moscow, Rio de Janeiro, Creteil, Buxton, Bacau, Trento, Bombay, Istanbul, Ankara, Loule, Sarajevo, Minneapolis, Samos, Kalamata, Stanford, Pennsylvania, and others.

 

Introduction to the Balkans

In this speech, Josip Tito (aka Marshall Tito) firmly asserts the unity of Yugoslavia and its longevity...

 

Looking for articles?

EBSCO Databases:

Academic Search Premier :

A good place to start searching for articles.  This database covers a wide range of subject areas:  social sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, medical sciences, computer science, etc.  There are several ways to search this database:  keywords, subject terms, and geographic terms. 

____________________________________________________________________________

Modern Languages Association International Bibliography:

Publisher Description: Offers a  detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

____________________________________________________________________________

Historical Abstracts:

Publisher Description: "... covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. With over 800,000 records, Historical Abstracts is unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related social science literature."

____________________________________________________________________________

Film and Television Literature Index:

Publisher Description: "... index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage for over 300)."

____________________________________________________________________________

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies:

Publisher Description: "... provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography." 

____________________________________________________________________________

Index Islamicus:

Publisher Description: "... is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims and contains indexing for 3,470 titles with coverage dating back to 1906."

____________________________________________________________________________

ProQuest Databases:

Sociological Abstracts - "...abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers."

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - "... provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy"[politics and religion; politics and society]. 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Slavic Reference Service
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
International &
Area Studies Library
321 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
International and Area Studies Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip