Contents
The citations on this page are not an exhaustive list but a starting point for research. They include only the major print titles, but should get you started. The bibliographic titles are arranged chronologically.
- Print Reference Sources
- Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
- General Published Guides
- Russian Literary Bibliography
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
The titles listed below are all аvailable at www.feb-web.ru. This site has a great number of wonderful resources for anyone working with Russian Literature.
- Rechnik na bŭlgarskata literatura Multi-volume dictionary of Bulgarian literature
- Spravochnik na simvolite v bŭlgarskii︠a︡ simvolizŭm A guide to the symbols in Bulgarian literature
- Rechnik po nova bŭlgarska literatura, 1878-1992 Guide to Bulgarian authors and their works.
- Přehled pojmů z českého jazyka a literatury Dictionary of Czech literary terminology
- Lexikon české literatury Multi-volume dictionary of Czech writers and their works
- Slovník českých literárních časopisů, periodických literárních sborníků a almanachů 1945-2000 Dictionary of Czech literary periodicals and almanacs published after World War II
- A magyar irodalom arcképcsarnoka Dictionary of Hungarian literature and authors
- Magyar irodalmi lexikon Dictionary and bio-bibliographical source on Hungarian literature
- Lietuvių literatūros enciklopedija Lithuanian literary encyclopedia with CD ROM
- Encyklopedia literatury polskiej General literary encyclopedia for Poland
- Maly slownik pisarzy polskich na obczyznie... Guide to Polish emigre authors and their writings.
- Dictionary of Polish literature General, basic dictionary of Polish literature
- Slownik postaci literackich Dictionary of Polish literary terms, styles, etc.
- Słownik literatury polskiej XIX wieku Dictionary of Polish 19th century literature
- Dicționarul general al literaturii Romăne Six volume dictionary of the literature and authors of Romania
- Dicționar de literatură română Dictionary of Romania's major author and their works.
- Literaturnaia Entsiklopediia 1930 literary encyclopedia for Russian/Soviet Authors
- Slovar' russkogo iazyka v 4. t. Extensive dictionary of the Russian language
- Slovar psevdonimov Dictionary of pseudonyms used by Russian authors. The entries for each author also include the sources in which the pseudonyms were first used.
- Entsiklopediia "Slovo o Polku Igoreve" This five volume encyclopedia includes information on the historical figures mentioned in the work "Slovo o Polku Igoreve" as well as detailed information on the various editions of the work.
- Poeticheskii Slovar Dictionary of poetic terms.
- Lermontovskaia entsiklopediia Encyclopedia of entries on all aspects of Lermontov's life and work.
- Slovar iazyka Griboedova Dictionary of the vocabulary used in all of Griboedov's writings.
- Slovar russkogo iazyka XVIII veka Dictionary of 18th century language. Entries cease with the letter "N"
- Rečnik na starata makedonska literatura One of the many dictionaries of old Slavic literature
Reference Sources - Print
There are hundreds of literary bibliographies, most devoted to specific authors. Excellent bibliographic materials are often included in biographical sources such as IAzykov' s Obzor zhizni i trudov pokoinykh russkikh pisatelei.
Because of the large number of bibliographic sources in print for each of the countries of our region, it is often most useful to begin with a general guide to the bibliographies for the subject. This may seem like an infinite regress but it is often the quickest way to pinpoint the source you need for your topic. Beginning with a source like Murlin Croucher's "Slavic Studies" or an even broader guide to bibliography such as Balay's "Guide to Reference Books" you can identify the general bibliographic and reference sources on an unfamiliar topic. You can also use the online catalog with a heading such as "Slovenian Literature--Bibliography" to get an idea of the titles available here in the library and, possibly more useful, the call number range in which they and other titles can be found.
General Published Guides
- Bibliographien zum Schrifttum aus und über Osteuropa : Katalog des Bibliographischen Lesesaales der Bibliothek des Osteuropa-Instituts Berlin - Freie Universität Berlin. Osteuropa-Institut. Bibliothek
Call Number: F. 015.47 F882B
The catalog lists those materials available at the institute and is limited only by the contents of that institution's library. The catalog is organized by country and then subdivided into subject headings. Each regional section contains copies of the card catalog cards for specific bibliographies. - Slavic studies : a guide to bibliographies, encyclopedias, and handbooks - Croucher, Murlin
Call Number: Q. 016.947 SL16
ISBN/ISSN: 0842023747
Croucher's two volume work on Slavic studies is an excellent overall guide to resources in the Slavic field. He includes not only bibliographic titles, but reference resources of all types. While it is extremely thorough, listing thousands of sources, the subject headings are somewhat idiosyncratic. It is, however, well worth the effort! - Bibliography of Islamic Central Asia - Bregel, Yuri
Call Number: 016.958 B746B
ISBN/ISSN: 0933070357
This is a tremendous resource for anyone interested in the Islamic culture and history of the region. It is certainly not limited to bibliography and includes citations to many of the major works on the area. There are three volumes, covering the following subjects: pt. I. History, religion, culture -- pt. 2. Descriptions and Travel, written sources for Central Asian history, ethnography, folklore, folk entertainments, physical anthropology -- pt. 3. Archeology, numismatics, architecture, visual arts, auxiliary historical disciplines, historical geography, historiography, bibliography, addenda, indexes.
Russian Literary Bibliography
One of the great strengths of the collection here at Illinos is the wealth of bibliographic resources on Russia and the former Soviet Union. This is a mixed blessing for the scholar requiring older resources as the large number of sources can be overwhelming.
If you are in need of the print sources for Russia you will find it useful to begin your search with a guide to literary bibliography. The most comprehensive is Kandel's Russkaia khudozhestvennaia literatura i literaturovedenie. Ukazatel' spravochno-bibliograficheskikh posobii s kontsa XVIII veka po 1974 god, UIUC Call Number: 016.8917 K13R.
The list below includes a number of the bibliographic sources used most heavily here at Illinois. It is by no means comprehensive.
Bibliografiia sovetskikh russkikh rabot po literature XI-XVII vv. za 1917-1957 gg.
Droblenkov, N. F.( comp.). Leningrad: Akademiia Nauk SSSR, 1961.
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.8917 D83b
Bibliografiia rabot po drevnerusskoi literature, opublikovannykh v SSSR ...
Droblenkov, N. F. (comp.). Leningrad: "Nauka".
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.89171 D83b V.1-2 (1958-1967).
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.89171 D83bi (1968-1972)
Bibliografiia rabot po drevnerusskoi literature, opublikovannykh v SSSR 1973-1987 gg. Ch. I-II .
Belobrova, O. A. (comp.). St. Petersburg: Institut russkoi literatury (Pushkinskii Dom), 1996.
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.89171 B471 V.1-2
Bibliografiia rabot po drevnerusskoi literature, opublikovannykh v SSSR 1988-1992 gg.
Belobrova, O. A. (comp.). St. Petersburg: Institut russkoi literatury (Pushkinskii Dom), 1998.
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.89171 B4712
Istoriia russkoi literatury XVIII veka. Bibliograficheskii ukazatel'.
Stepanov, V. P. Leningrad: "Nauka", 1968.
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.8917 ST43i
Muratova, K. D. Istoriia russkoi literatury XIX veka. Bibliograficheskii ukazatel'.
Moscow: Akademiia Nauk SSSR, 1962.
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.8917 Ak1s
Muratova, K. D. Istoriia russkoi literatury kontsa XIX-nachala XX veka. Bibliograficheskii ukazatel'. Moscow: Akademiia Nauk SSSR, 1963.
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.8917 Ak1is
Muratova, K. D. Istoriia russkoi literatury XIX-nachala XX veka: Bibliograficheskii ukazatel'.
Sankt-Peterburg: Nauka, 1993.
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.891709 G128i
Russkie Pisateli. Opyt bibliograficheskogo posobiia po Russkoi literature XIX-XX st.
Vladislavlev, I. V. Moscow: Gosudarstvennoe izdatel'stvo, 1924.
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.8917 G95 r 1962
Russkie Sovetskie pisateli. Prozaiki. Biobibliograficheskii ukazatel'. T.1-
Leningrad, 1959-1969
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.8917 L54r v. 1-6
Russkie Sovetskie pisateli. Poety. Biobibliograficheskii ukazatel'. Tom 1-15.
Moscow: Izdatel'stvo "Kniga", 1977-1992.
Russkie pisateli. Poety (Sovetskii period). Biobibliograficheskii ukazatel'. Tom 16- .
Moscow: Izdatel'stvo "Kniga", 1977-1992.
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.8917 R921s v.1-
Sovetskoe literaturovedenie i kritika. Russkaia Sovetskaia literatura (obshchie raboty).
Moscow: Izd. "Nauka". 1962-
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.891709 So89 1917-1962
Russian Reference 016.891709 So89 1963-1967
Russian Reference 016.891709 So89 1968/1970`
Russian Reference 016.891709 So89 1971/73
Sovetskoe literaturovedenie i kritika: teoriia literatury. Bibliograficheskii ukazatel' 1917-1967. Ch.1-4. Moscow: AN SSSR. INION. 1989
UIUC Call Number: Russian Reference 016.891709 G281s
Subject Guide |
Slavic Reference Service![]() |
Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait