Library Catalogs
- Azerbaijan National Library E-Catalog
Azeri catalog can be searched in Russian - COBISS.BH (Co-operative Online Bibliographic System and Services)
Bosnian Hercegovinian Library Catalog - Народна Библиотека "Св. Св. Кирил и Методий&qu
Bulgarian National Library Catalog - NSK WebPAC
Croatian National Library Catalog - NKC - Basic Search
Czech National Library Catalog - ESTER - TALLINN
Estonian National and Union Catalog - NPLG
Georgian National Library. The catalogs are listed under the E-resources and there is an English language interface. It is also possible to search the catalog in Russian. - Librivision 2.1.0 -- OSZK online katalógus --
Hungarian Library Catalog - Новый поиск
Kazak National Library Catalog - .:: Yordam BT ::.
Kyrgyz - Turkey Manas University Library - NLL Catalog - Basic Search
Latvian National Library Catalog - LIBIS
Lithuanian National Library - The National Library of Poland Web OPAC menu
Polish National Library Catalog - COBISS.MK (Co-operative Online Bibliographic System and Services)
Macedonian National Library Catalog - XALL - Multi-field search
Russian State Library Catalog (Moscow) - Электронные каталоги Российской национа
Russian National Library Catalogs Page - COBISS/OPAC
Serbian National Catalog - Port�ku katal� a zbierkam slovensk�ižn� onkeypress=
Slovak National Library Catalog - COBISS/OPAC
Slovenian National Library Catalog - KATALOG 1774 - 1947
Slovenian Retrospective Card Catalog - Поиск в электронном каталоге Национально
Ukrainian National Library Catalog - O'zbekiston Milliy Kutubxonasi 2007
Uzbek national library catalog (Russian interface page). The catalog reflects their most recent holdings.
Library Catalogs
One of the interesting developments with electronic resources is that the general sources, such as library catalogs, sometimes obviate the need to check a variety of subject resources. This has certainly been true with some of the south Slavic national library catalogs that include citations to books, dissertations and articles. The Czech National Library has a multi-functional search portal available from the library's home page that will allow the user to search for article citations online. Likewise, EastView company has produced an online subscriptionversion of the Russian National Bibliography [UIUC ONLY!] that includes citations to articles, dissertations, maps, journals and books.
Another such source exists via the Bulgarian National Library. As with the Czech portal, this website provides access to citations for books, articles and periodicals. However, the access is provided through separate catalogs. The article catalog is retrospective to the early nineties. As is clear from the database titles, the book catalogs go back to the 1980s. The Romanian National Library catalog also includes citations to articles. However, it is somewhat unreliable and is periodically unavailable. The Baltic countries have some excellent resources for identifying publications, articles and books.
The Estonian National Library catalog, ESTER, allows the researcher to select specific library collections to search. It can be searched in cyrillic or latin characters. As with most of the other East European library catalogs, articles, manuscripts and books are included in its records. It is also the case here that the records only date from the early '90s for articles. However, the books catalogs include records from the 1700s.
A list of links to all the library catalogs for Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union are listed in the side bar to the left.
Bibliographies of Bibliography
- If you are working on an unfamiliar topic, the bibliography of bibliography can save you a great deal of time in your research. It is the easiest way to identify a subject guide for your area.
- Currently produced by most countries as a serial publication, including Russia, Poland, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Croatia.
- In some cases, the national library catalog now serves the function of this type of source as will be described below.
I know no better starting point when exploring an unfamiliar topic than the bibliography of bibliography. In the best case scenario, it will identify a subject guide that will give a wide variety of information. In any case it will give a very clear idea of how much research has been done on a topic.
Most countries in Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union produce some kind of serial bibliography listing bibliographic sources. The Russians have produced an annual publication of this type for many years. Some of these sources are now available online. These include bibliographies that are published in journals, not just monographs. As with any serial bibliographic source, searching its contents can be a time consuming procedure.
- General resources for finding bibliographies of bibliography for all countries
These sources will help identify bibliographies of bibliography for countries with few sources of this type. Some of the print sources are somewhat outdated but can still be useful for retrospective searches. - Bulgarian bibliographies of bibliography
Citations to bibliographic resources for Bulgaria - Czech and Slovak Bibliographies of Bibliography
Annotated bibliography of Czech bibliographic resourcs - Polish Bibliographies of Bibliography
Annotated bibliography of Poland bibliographic resourcs - Russian Bibliographies of Bibliography
Annotated bibliography of Russia bibliographic resourcs - Ukrainian Bibliographies of Bibliography
Annotated bibliography of Ukrainian bibliographic resourcs
Subject Guide |
Slavic Reference Service![]() |
Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait