Archival Resources
Web Portals
Other OPACsUIUC Catalog
Current AwarenessFederated SearchingPersonal Bibliographic SoftwareScanners
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Slavic Literature Guide  Tags: slavic research_methods russian east_european literature  

Last update: Sep 04th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/slaviclit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Archival Resources             Print Page
  

National Archival Portals

  • Bulgarian Archival Portal  
      
    Clickable map of Bulgarian archives. Each link provides contact information for the archives of the region.
  • HRVATSKI DRŽAVNI ARHIV  
      
    Links to information pages on the regional archives of Croatia. Basic descriptions and contact information are included.
  • Česke archivni společnost  
      
    Links with extensive information to Czech archives. Many include access to search engines. The English language pages also supply extensive discussion of accessing materials in Czech archives
  • :: Rahvusarhiiv ::  
      
    List of links to Estonian archives provided by the central Estonian ministry for archival materials.
  • National Archives of Hungary  
      
    Government guide to Hungarian archives. Pdf guide to the archives is available here.
  • Latvijas Valsts arhīvi - Laipni aicināti!  
      
    Central access site for Latvian archives. The site includes links to the Latvian national archival database as well as to sites on the national and regional archives. The latter includes information for contacting the archive directly.
  • Lietuvos Archyvų Departamento svetainė  
      
    Department of Archives in Lithuania with extensive information on accessing Lithuanian archives. This includes links to specific archives, search interfaces for a national database and contact information for the archives.
  • Државен архив на Република Македонија - До  
      
    Macedonian State Archives website.
  • Архивы России  
      
    Very extensive Russian archival portal. There are links to archival sites, databases, information on printed guides and a wealth of other resources.
  • Arhivska mreža  
      
    Serbian archival portal with links and contact information, extensive information on archival history and full text of many archival documents.
  • Arhiv Srbije i Crne Gore  
      
    Archives of Serbia and Montenegro.
  • Sekcia verejnej sprvy ministerstva vntra SR  
      
    Portal to the archives and search interfaces of the archives for Slovakia. Includes links to individual archives.
  • Arhiv Republike Slovenije  
      
    Archives of the Republic of Slovenia. Links and bibliography of guides for the archives of the country.
  • Archives of Ukraine  
      
    Portal to the archives of the Ukraine with contact information and links whenever possible to the individual regional archives.
 
 

The Resources

The first stop in looking for archival information is to check a guide to the archives for your particular region. For Russia, Ukraine and the Baltic region, the very excellent English language, printed guides by Patricia Grimsted are an excellent, if somewhat dated beginning. The Russian guides by Grimsted are the most up to date published sources. In this area it is probably most useful to look at online guides. These tend to be the most current and are readily accessible through the archival portals maintained by the University of Idaho or UNESCO.

Directories 

The directories listed in the left had sidebar are points of entry for archives all over the world.  The wealth of online material can save a great deal of time when planning a research trip that will include visits to regional archives.  Most of the sites that are listed in these directories have, at the very least, citations to published archival guides.  Many have online finding aids.  Two of the most important general directories for archives are:

 UNESCO Archive Portal.
http://www.unesco.org/cgi-bin/webworld/portal_archives/cgi/page.cgi?d=1

and 

Repository of Primary Sources
http://www.uidaho.edu/special-collections/Other.Repositories.html

Both of these sites have links to archives all over the world.  Both have access primarily through a georgraphic index.  The UNESCO portal has additional materials that can be helpful if you are seeking government regulations regarding archives. 

While both of these sites have numerous links to regional archives they are not comprehensive.  When looking for regional archives it is often useful to start at the national archival site for a particular country.  Most have a page of links for regional archives, some drop-down lists.  Links to many of the national archival sites for the area are listed below.  

Archival guides are also listed in historical and other subject bibliographies. If you are trying to identify the most current guide it is often helpful to consult the website for the archive. When the archive does not have a website the historical or library science bibliographies are often the only alternative.

Finding published tools specific to an archive is often most easily accomplished today by looking at a particular archives website.  Identifying the published guides can be tedious.  They were usually included in historical bibliographies, but these are often annual publications so finding all the guides to an archive would mean searching all the volumes of the bibliography.

The national archival sites for individual countries have made this process much simpler.  Each addresses the issue in its own way. Some like the Hungarian National archive include links that allow the user to access lists of the published finding aids availaible for the archive.  For example, the website for Czech archives has a link in the left-hand sidebar to the search aid for Czech repositories.  The search interface is available in a number of languages including English.  A very simple search for the term "ruske" brought up numerous matches.  The entries are extremely useful as can be seen from the sample below.

Czech archival finding aid

Note that the entry includes a reference to a published finding aid.

The Bulgarian National archive portal includes a link to a listing of information for the regional archives.  Each link includes subdivisions devoted to specific topics including lists of published guides to each of the archives.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSlavic Reference Service


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-1349
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait