This is the "Home" page of the "Latin American & Caribbean: Historical Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American & Caribbean: Historical Research Guide   Tags: historical_research, history, international_and_area_studies, latin_america, portuguese, spanish  

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LAC_historical_research Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

History at UIUC

For more resources for historical research, visit the History, Newspaper & Philosophy Library (HNPL). You can consult their many helpful guide and tutorials or search LibGuides using the tags "history" or "historical research."

For an excellent introduction to historical research, see the HNPL's Introduction to Historical Research

 

RefWorks

Make your life easier: use RefWorks! Refworks is an online database that let's you store bibliographic citations from library catalogs and databases, such as MLA, generate annotated bibliographies and citations in a wide range of citation styles and share bibliographies with classmates and colleagues through RefShare.

 

Gran Enciclopedia de España


 

  Gran Enciclopedia de España  

It's a meticulous scientific research encyclopedic in work in Spanish language developed over twenty years, it has been designed and written by leading specialists and contributors throughout Spain, including two Nobel prizes. The GEE focuses exclusively in Spain and its historical presence in other territories of the world, especially in Latin America, and many aspects related to the history and culture of its diverse people are discussed in detail and depth, two characteristics that make it a unique resource of this kind. 

·         More than 180 000 articles  

•   More than 50,000 images and videos   

•   Great number of links connecting related articles  

•   Thousands of bibliographic references

•   Contents updated on a daily basis

•   Advanced search tool with multiple navigation options

•   Dictionary of la Real Academia Española. 


 

Good starting points

Q. 980.00321 C1441992 (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.

972.9003 En19 (Undergrad. Lib. and Ref.Lib.)
Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures. London ; New York : Routledge, 2000. 3 Vols.

Q. 980.003 EN19 (Undergrad. Lib. and Ref. Lib.)
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. New York : C. Scribner’s Sons, 1996. 5 Vols.

Q. 320.9803 En192 (Fef. Lib.)
Encyclopedia of Latin American politics. Westport, Conn.: Oryx Press, 2002.

303.609803 K828h (Hist. Lib)
Historical dictionary of the "dirty wars." Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2003.

Latin America: a guide to the historical literature

016.98 C639l (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
Latin American studies: an annotated bibliography of core work. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2002.

Q. 980.003 L349 (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
Latinoamericana : enciclopédia contemporânea da América Latina e do Caribe. São Paulo, 2006.

Q. 972.01 Ox25 (Ed. & Soc. Sci. Lib.)
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: the civilizations of Mexico and Central America. Oxford, 2001. 3 Vols.or
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures

Q. 980.00202 H383r (Hist. Lib & Undergrad. Lib)
A reference guide to Latin American history. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, 2000.

Wikipedia Beware: Not all in Wikipedia is correct! Nor is it a scholarly resource.

 

Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Collections and Services


Antonio Sotomayor, PhD
Librarian for Latin American and Caribbean Studies

337A Main Library
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL  61801
Phone: (217)300-4812
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Email: asotomay@illinois.edu 

Paula Mae Carns, PhD
Librarian for Latin American and Caribbean Literature

200 South Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801  U.S.A.
Phone: (217) 333-0076
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Email: pcarns@illinois.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip