Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Latin American & Caribbean: Historical Research Guide  Tags: latin_america spanish portuguese historical_research history  

Last update: Jul 30th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LAC_historical_research  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

LA&C Articles

More Indexes & Databases

Best:

HAPI UIUC
Identifies article and review citations regarding Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. in subject areas including political science, history and the humanities.

Handbook of Latin American Studies WWW
An excellent multidisciplinary resource from the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.

Chicano Database UIUC
Identifies publications about Mexican-American and Latino topics. Provides selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.


Other:

Clase y Periodica WWW
A database of article citations from more than 2,500 Latin American and Caribbean scientific journals from from 1979 to the present.

Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) WWW
Tables of contents for hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences from Latin America.

LATINDEX WWW
Directory of 12,000 journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal in a range of disciplines.



How to find articles tutorial


 
 

Finding Articles

Step One: Find your database

You have a research topic and now you need a relevant database to search. To do this just turn to one of the side boxes for lists of relevant databases.  Remember - if one database isn't giving you the results you want, feel free to switch to another database.

Step Two: Finding online articles

Most recent articles are available in full-text, which means that you can view the entire article from your computer. You can email, print or save these articles for your research. For some articles, especially older ones, you will only be provided with a citation and an abstract.

 

  What if my article is not available in full-text?

 

Step Three: Finding print articles

Not everything is available in electronic format. Keep your citation (name of journal, volume, and issue) handy. Now search the library's online catalog for the location of the print journal. You can do a " Quick Search" since you know the title of the journal. Look to see which library holds the issue or volume that you need and jot down the location and call number. Now you need to visit a departmental library to make a photocopy.


What if the library doesn't have my print article?


Step Four: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available in full-text online and it is not available in print, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery. Make sure to choose "Request a photocopy" and fill out the entire form, including the source of the citation. This process typically takes 7-10 days, so plan ahead! Interlibrary Loan will most likely deliver your article as a .pdf file to your email address.

 

History Databases

Historical Abstracts UIUC

Academic Search Premier UIUC

Expanded Academic ASAP UIUC

JSTOR UIUC

Periodical Archive Online UIUC

Project Muse UIUC

 

Latin American & Caribbean Library Collections and Services

Profile ImagePaula Carns, interim librarian
Contact Info:
pcarns@illinois.edu
425 Main Library
1408 W Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL
Tel: (217) 244-0483
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Hours M-F 9-5
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait