Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Latin American & Caribbean: Historical Research Guide  Tags: latin_america spanish portuguese historical_research history  

Last update: Jul 30th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LAC_historical_research  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources             Print Page
  
 

Primary Resources

For an excellent overview of primary sources for historical research, see the HPNL's LibGuide on Primary Sources.

 

more internet

Estudios Históricos en Centroamérica

Felipe Guaman Poma de Ayala:
El primer nueva corónica y buen gobierno

H-Caribbean

H-Latin America


Images of Latin Am cities

Latin American Open Archives Portal
The Latin American Open Archives Portal is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.

Resources on Aztec & Mayan Law

LA&C Sexuality Studies Bibliography

Spain, US & American Frontier

 
 

Digital Collections

Internet Gateways for Digital Collections

Intute

OIAster

 


David Rumsey Historical Map Collection

Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online UIUC
Full content of nearly 150,000 works published between 1701 an 1800.

Estudios Históricos en Centroamérica

The Fondo de Imágenes Históricas de Ciudades Americanas is a freely accessible collection of images of Latin American cities between the years of 1850 and 1930.  This is an attractive and unique online resource for the study of the urban history of this continent.--Intute

This sizeable and informative website is devoted to the history of colonial Spanish America from the 16th to the 18th century. Published by academics from the Instituto Histórico at Chile's Pontificia Universidad Católica, this site is an excellent resource for students beginning work on this field.--Intute

Relics and Selves is a virtual museum offering a comprehensive interactive exhibition, mostly in photographs, of the national iconographies of Argentina, Chile and Brazil in the final decades of the nineteenth century. The Gallery contains more than 3,000 images. This is an excellent primary resource for those interested in 19th century South America.--Intute

 

US Institute of Peace: Truth Commissions Digital Collections


Specific Countries

Argentina

The Historiapolitica.com website aims to function as an online resource centre for the study of Argentina political history. Aimed at anyone interested in the field, including researchers, lecturers and students, the site offers a range of research materials, information and links to related online resources. --Intute

Historia del Paísa is a good, comprehensive introduction to Argentine history and offers a wealth of information related to all areas of Argentina's past. This site will be of much use to students of Latin American/Argentine history and literature. --Intute

Brazil

The Biblioteca Virtual de Estudos Culturais, or the Virtual Library of Cultural Studies, is an initiative of the Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro in Brazil to bring together online resources for cultural studies. It is essentially annotated gateway to both Brazilian and international cultural studies which is impressive in scope--Intute

Brazilink is an vast gateway to online resources in the field of Brazilian studies and is an essential site for all students and researchers wishing to keep up-to-date with Brazilian news, and seeking original materials on all issues affecting the country (both inside and from abroad). --Intute

Chile

Chile : breve imaginería política 1970-1973

This website offers a large, impressive online gallery of mural and poster art that began in Chile in the years leading up to Salvador Allende winning the presidential election in 1970, and that proliferated throughout the Unidad Popular's rule until 1973. This site offers a means of examining the works in detail and learning more about their impact, the figures involved, and the history of Chile in this turbulent period of political and social upheaval. --Intute

Publicaciones electrónicas historia de Chile

This website, from the Instituto de Historia (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile), makes available the Institute's research and publications in electronic form and takes Chilean history as its main focus.  --Intute

Cuba

The Castro speech database contains full-text English translations of a selection of speeches, interviews and press conferences by Fidel Castro.

Mexico

Mexico : From Empire to Revolution is a Web resource based upon the collections of the Getty Research Institute and is a digital exhibition of photography chronicling the history of Mexico during the key period of 1857 to 1923. --Intute

Spain, US & American Frontier

Peru

The website, the 'Centro Cultural Perú Virtual' is an excellent online resource gateway for anyone interested in Peruvian culture.

 

Latin American & Caribbean Library Collections and Services

Profile ImagePaula Carns, interim librarian
Contact Info:
pcarns@illinois.edu
425 Main Library
1408 W Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL
Tel: (217) 244-0483
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Hours M-F 9-5
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait