Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Latin American & Caribbean: Orientation  Tags: latin_america caribbean  

Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LAC_orientation  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

LA&C Library Resources Homepage

LA&C Library Collections & Services Homepage

 

LA&C at UIUC

The Latin American and Caribbean collection includes materials about the entire Latin American and Caribbean region and also about Hispanic American communities in the United States. Collection development concentrates on materials largely in the social sciences and humanities, covering such disciplines as history, anthropology, political science, sociology, literature, linguistics and economics. These materials are scattered throughout the UIUC Main Library Stacks and departmental libraries:

 
 

Starting points

Online Resources

UIUC Library Easy Search

Google Scholar

Wikipedia--Beware: Not all in Wikipedia is correct! Nor is it a scholarly resource.

Print Encyclopedias
Q. 980.00321 C1441992 (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.

972.9003 En19 (Undergrad. Lib. and Reference Lib.)
Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures. London ; New York : Routledge, 2000. 3 Vols.

Q. 980.003 EN19 (Undergrad. Lib. and Reference Lib.)
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. New York : C. Scribner’s Sons, 1996. 5 Vols.

Q. 980.003 L349 (ML&L Lib. Ref.)
Latinoamericana : enciclopédia contemporânea da América Latina e do Caribe. São Paulo, 2006.

Q. 972.01 Ox25 (Ed. & Soc. Sci. Lib.)
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: the civilizations of Mexico and Central America. Oxford, 2001. 3 Vols.

 

History at UIUC

For more resources for historical research, visit the History, Newspaper & Philosophy Library (HNPL) or consult one of their many helpful LibGuides using the tags "history" or "historical research."

For an excellent introduction to historical research, see the HNPL's Introduction to Historical Research

 

Latin American & Caribbean Library Collections and Services

Profile ImagePaula Carns, interim librarian
Contact Info:
pcarns@illinois.edu
425 Main Library
1408 W Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL
Tel: (217) 244-0483
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Hours M-F 9-5
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait