Google Scholar
Remember that Library databases searched through Google Scholar will not be accessible on non-campus computers. To access Library databases, go through the Library's Online Rearch Resources or the links on this guide.
(search results open in a new window)
LA&C Articles
Best:
HAPI UIUC
Identifies article and review citations regarding Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. in subject areas including political science, history and the humanities.
Handbook of Latin American Studies WWW
An excellent multidisciplinary resource from the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
Chicano Database UIUC
Identifies publications about Mexican-American and Latino topics.
Provides selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records
added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino
experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central
American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish
Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological,
and educational literature.
Other:
Clase y Periodica WWW
A database of article citations from more than 2,500 Latin American and Caribbean scientific journals from from 1979 to the present.
Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) WWW
Tables of contents for hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences from Latin America.
LATINDEX WWW
Directory of 12,000 journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal in a range of disciplines.
Multi-Subjects Indexes & Databases
To find articles and books, try the Library's Easy Search
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
- Academic OneFile (Infotrac)
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Current Biography Illustrated 1940- present
- CQ Researcher
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective 1907-1984
Full-Text Article Databases (see box below for online journal portals)
Anthropology
Anthropology Indexes & Databases
Art
Business
Business & Economics Indexes & Databases
Education
History
Linguistics
MLA International Bibliography Database
Literature
MLA International Bibliography Database
Bibliografía de la Literatura Española desde 1980
Political Science
Political Science Indexes & Databases
Religion
Religion Indexes & Databases through the HNPL
Sociology
Women's Studies
Online Journal Portals
Americanismo--journals on Latin American topics
Cibera Virtual Library on Ibero-America, Spain and Portugal
CSIC Scholarly and scientific journals from Spain
Directory of open access journals
Electronic Journals Library --a wealth of online journals
E-revistas --This portal is maintained by El Centro de Información y Documentación Científica (CINDOC) in association with other leading research instututions to provide free access to full text academic journals in Spanish
Estudios Afroamericanos --provides links to online peer reviewed journals in the field
Directory of open access journals
Universidad de La Rioja' Dialnet
Intute--lists individual online journals
Linking the Americas --full-text access to various 20th century literary journals
Miguel de Cervantes Virtual Library --0ffers electronic journals, mostly in literature and culture.
Portal de Revistas Electrónicas from the Complutense University in Madrid --gives full-text free access to electronic versions of all the scholarly journals edited by the University
Portal Europeo de América Latina --a key online gateway to research in the field of Latin American studies across Europe. Resulting from a partnership between REDIAL (Red Europea de Información y Documentación sobre América Latina) and CEISAL (Consejo Europeo de Investigaciones Sociales de América Latina)
Portal del Hispanismo --or new issues of journals related to the field of Latin American studies
Scielo: Scientific Electronic Library Online
RedALyc: La Red de Revistas Científicas de Américan Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal --Free access to an online collection of over 400 Spanish language ejournals
Revistes catalanes amb Accés Obert (RACO), or Open Access Catalan Journals, an online repository of scholarly journals from Catalonia
Sitios Culturales de Chile is a vast online portal to websites useful for Chilean cultural studies including journals
Latin American & Caribbean Library Collections and Services |
Paula Carns, interim librarianpcarns@illinois.edu
425 Main Library
1408 W Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL
Tel: (217) 244-0483
Fax: (217) 333-2214
Hours M-F 9-5
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait