Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Video Games and Gaming Research  Tags: ugl_subject_guide video_games computer_games gaming  

A guide to show you how to research video games and gaming culture.
Last update: Oct 10th, 2008 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/videogames  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Background Sources

There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Reference Collections in the Undergraduate and Communications Libraries. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian

.

 
 

Suggested reference sources

  • American Icons. 306.097303 Am35. An overview of videogames from technological, aestethic, psychological, social and political perspectives. Includes background, history and bibliography from further research.
  • Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms. 306.09730904 B682. Provides information on specific games as well as relevant popular culture information.
  • Classic home video games, 1972-1984 : a complete reference guide. (Communications Library) 794.8 W436c. This reference work provides a guide to popular video games of the 1970s and early 1980s. Each chapter includes a brief history and description of the game system, followed by a complete listing of video games released for that console.
  • Concise Encyclopedia of Computer Science. 004.03 C748. Provides technological information and history as well as extension coverage of types of games.
  • CQ Researcher - 327 G511 - (Online access, print copy in Undergraduate periodicals.) Provides topic overviews, background, current relevance and issues, bibliography for further research.
  • Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media (Communications Library) Q. 302.2308303 En194. Contains interdisciplinary discussions of video games, television, and the Internet and their effects on young people.
  • Encyclopedia of Computer Science. Q001.6403 En192 2000. Contains history and technological information as well as an overview of various types of computer and video games.
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Everyday Inventions. 609.04 674e. Includes historical, technological, and cultural information as well as an overview of game design and possible future developments.
  • Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Technology. Q603 En197. Includes overviews of the history of game consoles, history and development of games and technological information.
  • Issues and Controversies on File. 973.05 IS. Provides a rich assortment of introductory articles on social issues like gaming.
  • Pop Culture Universe- Information on American and world popular culture, past and present - new technology (iPods, gaming, gadgets).
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageUndergraduate Library
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait