Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Video games
Electronic games
Computer games
Video games & children
Computer games
Internet games
Video games & children
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases
Recommended Article Databases:
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
- Expanded Academic Index ASAP (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
- Periodical Abstracts (FirstSearch) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Lexis Nexis Academic - Identifies articles from newspapers, journals, and reference books.
- ComAbstracts - Identifies articles in communications including broadcasting, journalism, mass media, and public relations.
- Communication abstracts - Identifies publications in communications including international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, crisis communication and public opinions.
- Alternative Press Index - Identifies full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from the alternative and independent press.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate Library![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait