Databases
Databases are large, regularly updated files of articles from journals, magazines, and trade publications related to a specific subject or field. The databases listed below are related to natural resources and environmental sciences.
Some database coverage overlaps (i.e., some databases collect the same articles from the same journals), but you will find different results by searching in different databases. When you're aiming to be comprehensive in your research, it's a good idea to search more than one database.
- Agricola The bibliographic database of the National Agricultural Library. It is an excellent source for research of Agriculture & allied disciplines in the U. S.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources Identifies articles regarding basic and applied research on aquatic organisms.
- Biological Abstracts Covers biochemistry, biology, botany, cell biology, medicine, microbiology, molecular biology, physiology and zoology. Goes back to 1969.
- CAB abstracts A comprehensive bibliographic database of Ag publications worldwide. Areas of interest significant to Ag Engineering, identified in CAB include: Biotechnology, Environment & allied disciplines, and Crop protection.
- Compendex, Engineering Village Covers all engineering disciplines including chemical, computer, electrical, civil, mechanical and physics engineering. Goes back to 1970.
- Digital Dissertations Theses and dissertations from U.S. & Canadian institutions. Read full text of dissertations produced at CIC institutions from 1997 to the present. Abstracts only are available for dissertations from 1980-1996; citations only on material from 1861-1979.
- Environmental sciences & pollution management
Major database with broad topic coverage, including agricultural biotechnology, ecology, aquatic ecology, microbiology, toxicology and environmental engineering. Searching within this database allows simultaneous searching of multiple databases. - Geobase Worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology.
- GeoRef Covers mineralogy, geochemistry, petrology, marine geology and oceanography, geology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, and environmental, economic, and engineering geology. Goes back to 1785.
- SciFinder Scholar [Chemical Abstracts] - The largest, most comprehensive chemical literature database.
- Web of Science Provides the most current index to over 8000 of the world's leading scholarly research journals in all disciplines; includes abstracts. Avail: 1982 - present. Includes a unique "cited reference" feature, to find articles that have cited a given article.
Environmental Sciences Journals
These journals are related to environmental science; you can see a short description of the journal if you hold
your cursor over the title. Journals on this list were selected by
impact factor, a measure of the journal’s relative importance.
If you need to know how to find a specific journal title that is not listed here, watch this short video.
- Environmental health perspectives : EHP
- Global change biology
- Critical reviews in environmental science and technology
- Environmental science & technology
- Global biogeochemical cycles
- Frontiers in ecology and the environment
- Annual review of environment and resources
- Conservation biology
- Global environmental change : human and policy dimensions
- Environmental Science and Pollution Research
- Ecological applications
- Water research
- Biological conservation
- Applied catalysis. A, General
- Environmental pollution
- Geobiology
- Remote sensing of environment
- Journal of Environmental Science and Health , Part C - Environmental Carcinogenesis and Ecotoxicology Reviews
- Environmental research
- Climatic change
Government Info
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration A rich resource with lots of news, information, and resources.
- Water Quality Information Center (National Ag Library) Provides access to the Database of Online Documents Covering Water and Agriculture, currently containing 1,442 titles, along with other resources.
- EPA Water Science This site is packed with information, tools, pollution controls, health advisories, etc.
- Climate and Environmental Sciences Division (U.S. Dept of Energy) Sponsors fundamental scientific research that helps solve intractable environmental problems while also contributing to the general advance of relevant areas of science.
- EPA Pesticides Information on Health and Safety, Environmental Effects, Regulating Pesticides, and more.
- Illinois Department of Natural Resources Mission is to manage, protect and sustain Illinois' natural and cultural resources; provide resource-compatible recreational opportunities; and promote natural resource-related public safety, education, and science.
- Illinois USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service Resource of up-to-date information on conservation topics including programs, news, data, and more.
- Illinois State Water Survey Provides lots of general information, current and historical, as well as information on the Survey's current research.
- Plants Database (USDA) A wealth of information and tools provided by the USDA.
Subject Guide |
Isaac Funk Family Library200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Circulation Phone: 217-333-2416
Reference Phone: 217-244-2249
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural & Biological Engineering, Agricultural & Consumer Economics, Animal Sciences, Crop Sciences, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Human & Community Development, Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences, UI Extension
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait