Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Abortion  Tags: abortion ugl_subject_guide ugl  

An Undergraduate Library Subject Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic Abortion.
Last update: Sep 02nd, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/abortion  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Background Sources

There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
 
 

Suggested reference sources

  • CQ Researcher - 327 G511 - Online access, print copy in Undergraduate periodicals. Provides topic overviews, background, current relevance and issues, bibliography for further research.
  • Women's Studies Encyclopedia: Revised and Expanded - Contains definitions, methods, and history associated with abortion.
  • Abortion: A Reference Handbook 363.46 C823a 1996. Gives various types of information on issues surrounding the abortion controversy including: chronologies, statistics, facts, court cases, biographical sketches of important figures, medical procedures, directory of organizations, bibliographies, nonprint resources, etc. An excellent starting point for information on this topic.
  • The Abortion Controversy: A Documentary History 344.730546 Ab76 cop.2. Organized chronologically into 5 parts, this book analyzes legal documents from the late 1700's to the 1990's that reveal various aspects of the abortion controversy.
  • The Anti-Abortion Movement: References and Resources 016.36346 B592a cop.3. Contains information on the history of abortion, the history of the anti-abortion movement, but is mostly comprised of bibliographies on the following aspects of the anti-abortion movement: major organizations; political activities and events; tactics, rhetoric, and relation with the media; religious affiliations, as well as responses to the anti-abortion movement.
  • The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality Q 306.703 In8 2004. Listed alphabetically by country, each entry has a section 9 titled, "Contraception, Abortion, and Population Planning," which contains information on abortion for that particular country. The entry for the United States is extensive. Each entry is followed by a bibliography of references and suggested readings for further research.
  • Encyclopedia of Abortion in the United States Q 363.46097303 P182e. This single-volume encyclopedia contains various entries supplemented with graphs and charts on the social, political, legal, religious, medical and other issues associated with abortion. See extensive bibliography before the index for further reading.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageUndergraduate Library
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait