Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Abortion
Activism
Ban
Clinic
Church
Controversy
Debate
Ethics
Feminism
Government
Incest
Law
Methods
Morals
Parental Consent
Politics
Policy
Rape
Regulation/s
Religion
Reproductive rights
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Contemporary Women's Issues - Covers publications on womens' issues including political science, psychology, and reproductive rights, as well as contemporary cultural studies. Be aware that not all citations will offer the full-text of articles.
- Health Source (EBSCO) - Highlights articles on consumer health information.
- MEDLINEplus(National Library of Medicine) - Offers consumer information about health-related topics.
- Sociological Abstracts - Identifies articles, conference papers, books and dissertations in sociology and related fields.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - Provides articles on political science, international relations, law, public administration/policy and political economy.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait