Background Sources
There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the
Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed below
provide excellent starting points for your research. More specialized
books can be found at several of UIUC's departmental libraries; for
example, the Modern Languages and Linguistics Library has books on linguistic features of AAVE. If you need
help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
Suggested reference sources
- CQ Researcher - Online access - Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news (print copy in Undergraduate periodicals).
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multi-Cultural America (in print: Q. 305.800973 G131 1999) The entry on African Americans includes information not only on language, but also on proverbs and traditions, customs, and beliefs.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (in print: Q.973.0496073 En19) - Includes information on Africanisms and Black English Vernacular, which readers may contextualize in the rich social and historical information.
- Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development - Q. 370.3 En1944 - This encyclopedia includes the sections "Educational Issues Concerning Diverse Populations" and "Equity and Cultural Issues in Education."
- Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities - 305.8003 En197 - Includes articles on Bilingualism, Assimilation, Education Rights, and Minorities and Language.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait